Home > Support > Knowledge Base > Knowledge Base Article

Adding/Removing a User to Your Device Cloud Account

Adding a user to your account

Note that only users that are assigned the Administrator role can create, edit or remove other users.  
There must always be at least one user with an Administrator role within a customer account.

To add a user, log into the server, click on Security, then Users

Add or Remove a Device Cloud User
Click the “Add User” button and then enter in the necessary information.
Click the "OK" button when finished.

Add User dialog

The various types of roles that can be assigned to a user and their features are defined as follows:

  • Administrator Role (account owner) - This user has full permission to all resources within the account. They can create and edit users, security profiles, customer account settings, etc. These modifications can take place within the web interface as well as by use of the REST APIs. See the Device Cloud Programming Guide for more details about the APIs.

  • User Role - This user has read/write access to everything except some of the Administrator-only features (creating/editing users, security profiles, customer account settings, etc.). This user can use the web interface or the REST APIs.

  • Web Services Application Role - This role is the same as the user role, except that a Web Services application role user can only access resources using the REST APIs (and not the web interface). This role is intended for the creation of accounts used by client applications with access via REST APIs only. This type of user cannot log in to the web interface, and only an Administrator can change the password of this user.

  • Read-Only User Role - This role is the same as the user role, except that a read-only user has read-only access to resources. This user can use the web interface or the REST APIs.

  • Read-Only Web Services Application Role - This role is the same as the Web Services application role, except that a read-only Web Services application user has read-only access to resources.

  • Removing a user from your account

    To delete a user, log into the server, click on Security, then Users, highlight the name and then click the “Remove Users” button. 
    A dialog will be displayed. Confirm the removal of a user by clicking Yes in the dialog box. 


    Remove a Device Cloud User 

    Contact a Digi expert and get started today! CONTACT US