Home/Support/Support Forum/The purpose of transistor and zener in this circuit?
Welcome to Digi Forum, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.

The purpose of transistor and zener in this circuit?

0 votes
11.10.10.png
11.10.11.png
simulate this circuit – Schematic created using CircuitLab enter image description here (simulation will not be correct because the diodes are added just by its name.)

Hello, I am a student who is not really familiar with electronics, and these days I start studying several circuits which is being used in our experiments.

I have a circuit we insert between room ground and the circuit with power supplies. I made a diagram from the photo of the circuit that I took.

As far as I know, to avoid too high floating voltage between the circuit with power supplies and the ground, the circuit is to make negative voltage ~ MAX -50V relative to ground. (Zener diode 1N5347B (datasheet: http://www.kynix.com/uploadfiles/pdf/1N5347B.pdf) are actually 5 in series, not one. I omitted for the simplicity in the diagram)

I sort of understood by Googling and learning myself that the capacitor and the diode is a safe circuit for sudden voltage peaks (am I right?) But, the center part in the circuit diagram, still no idea after several days study. Only figured out that 1N5347B Zener diode 10V 5W is to endure max -50 V.

Here are my questions..

What would this circuit be called, if it has a name?
How may the capacitor size 1 uF and resistor size 10 ohms be chosen?
Why and in what role are those resistors (cement resistors) and transistor connected additionally to the zeners? I thought to have max -50V, only the 5 zener diodes may be sufficient.
Is it sort of isolation circuit or floating regulation circuit?
added at 20:52 pm, 6th March, 2016

Thank you for all who had commented.