Home/Support/Support Forum/XBee 3 cellular CAT1 available IO when in micropython mode

XBee 3 cellular CAT1 available IO when in micropython mode

0 votes
Hi - I'm new to XBee's and trying to figure out which pins of the XBee 3 CAT1 module are available as IO when in micropython mode. I'm planning to use the XBee in micropython mode without a host microcontroller.

Pin 1 Vcc
Pin 2 Dout - This can be used in micropython mode for serial comms with stdin/stdout, but must be available on a connector for field application code updates.
Pin 3 - This can be used in micropython mode for serial comms with stdin/stdout, but must be available on a connector for field application code updates.
Pin 4 - Can be used as IO or secondary UART Rx or IO.
Pin 5 - reset
Pin 6 - Will use RSSI output.
Pin 7 - Can use as IO, but need to run it to a connector for field XBee firmware updates.
Pin 8 - Need to have it on a connector for field XBee firmware updates.
Pin 9 - DTR, should be used with primary UART.
Pin 10 - GND
Pin 11 - Can be used as IO or secondary UART Tx.
Pin 12 - Can be used as IO, but recommended to use as CTS with primary UART.
Pin 13 - Can be used as On/Sleep or IO.
Pin 14 - Vref is unused. Leave disconnected.
Pin 15 - Can be used as Associate output or IO.
Pin 16 - Can be used as IO, but recommended to use as RTS with primary UART.
pin 17 - Analog input or IO
pin 18 - Analog input or IO
pin 19 - Analog input or IO
pin 20 - Analog input or IO

In my application, I need one UART for communicating with connected devices. Should I use the primary or secondary UART? If I use the secondary UART, does that mean all pins associated with the primary UART are unavailable due to my need to support field micropython code updates? If I use the primary UART, I believe it will make development more difficult. I'd have to update code, disconnect the serial tool and then connect to my product each time a make a change.