PuppTech公司创建监测和通知系统,保护车内的宠物

浦发科技
"Digi提供了设计资源,帮助我们创建了一个可行的设计,甚至还帮助我们制定了材料清单。他们真的帮助我们取得了今天的成就。"

William Loopesko,创始人 - PuppTech

当狗主人运送他们的狗时,安全是最重要的--特别是当情况迫使他们将狗留在车内无人看管时。PuppTech是一家科罗拉多州的初创公司,致力于帮助狗主人在无法陪伴狗的情况下照顾它们。他们的第一个产品PuppComm系统结合了一个嵌入式传感器和一个Digi XBee® 3 LTE无线电,以监测车内温度,并在超过阈值时发送文本和电子邮件警报。现在,狗主人几乎可以在任何地方监视他们的宠物--并且知道它们是安全的。

更安全的犬类旅行体验

对于许多狗主人来说,把他们的伴侣留在家里是不可能的--无论他们是去看狗展、度假公路旅行、周末远足还是在镇上办事。但是,负责任的宠物主人也认识到,当他们必须短暂地将狗留在车内无人看管时,存在着重要的安全挑战。即使外面的空气温度只有70多度(华氏),封闭的车辆也会迅速达到90-100度,从而危及他们的狗。

对于PuppTech公司的创始人和Clovis(一只快乐的大实验室)的主人William Loopesko来说,安全挑战变成了一种个人追求。"他说:"我离家六个小时,与我的狗和我的父亲在山上徒步旅行。"当我们在回家的路上停下来吃饭时,我不能把狗带进餐厅,所以我不得不每隔几分钟就去看看它。当我后来与兽医谈起这种情况时,他建议把狗留在家里 - 但这不是我养狗的原因。而这正是让我创建PuppComm系统的原因"。

从创业想法到快速发展

PuppTech转向由艾睿电子和Indiegogo共同赞助的初创企业认证计划,为其旗舰硬件/软件产品PuppComm系统的开发寻找支持。艾睿公司的团队推荐Digi国际公司作为资源,包括Digi的预认证蜂窝模块,以便快速上市。

在为期三天的旋风式众筹努力中,PuppTech获得了所需的启动资金并启动了开发工作。一路走来,狗狗社区对该产品表现出了兴奋,他们认识到该产品填补了一项关键需求。

为狗提供的联网环境监测解决方案

PuppComm系统是一种用于狗的便携式联网环境监测解决方案,可以部署在汽车、箱子、狗窝、房车和其他空间。尺寸为3英寸×3英寸×1英寸的PuppComm设备监测空气温度和湿度,并通过4G LTE连接每30秒向基于云的服务器发送测量值。如果读数超过容许值,PuppComm设备会向狗主人发出短信和电子邮件警报。

PuppComm系统利用专有的BSCUIT算法来确定狗狗的最佳温度。它还包括一个iOS和安卓应用程序,用于配置个性化的设置。这些设置包括狗的品种、年龄、体重和其他因素,用于计算适合每只狗的温度范围。该设备包括一个独立的电池和微型USB充电器,一个用于设备间本地通信的Wi-Fi模块,以及一个麦克风。

PuppComm的关键之一是集成在专有电路板上的嵌入式Digi XBee 3 Cellular LTE-M/NB-IoTmodem。

"我意识到,产品还必须有蜂窝状的连接,因为在大多数情况下,车辆不会有Wi-Fi接入,"Loopesko说。"我们开始与Digi合作,那是一次很好的经历。Digi提供了设计资源,帮助我们创建了一个可行的设计,甚至帮助我们制定了材料清单。他们真的帮助我们达到了今天的水平。"

The Digi XBee 3 Cellular LTE modem is pre-certified, which enables developers to quickly integrate wireless connectivity. The Digi XBee 3 Cellular LTE module is suitable for moderate bandwidth (typically <25 MB per month) and low-cost IoT applications, and is cost-competitive with legacy 2G/3G standard devices.

"我喜欢Digi XBee ,它是一个预认证的调制解调器。这为我们节省了大量的时间和金钱。我们可以使用LTE连接来发送空中固件更新,以保持一切顺利工作。"

保证宠物狗在路上的安全

PuppComm装置可安装在座椅头枕、车窗上方的把手或其他不受阳光直射的地方。PuppComm系统包括一张车外人员可见的贴纸,上面写着:"这只狗正受到PuppTech技术的保护",同时还有一个独特的PuppComm标识符。这样,路人可以扫描二维码或发短信检查狗的情况,并在进行任何激烈的干预之前了解车内温度。

据Loopesko说,PuppComm首先针对的是专业工作犬饲养员群体--那些在军队和警察中从事搜索/救援和各种任务的人和动物。他说:"这些不是宠物--它们是有价值的、努力工作的动物,"他说,"而且它们在车里呆的时间很长。"另一个关键市场是那些参加狗展的人,因为这个群体的成员总是在路上或坐在停放的车辆中,等待他们在活动中的环节。

PuppComm系统有助于减轻这些情况下可能出现的风险和不确定性。"随着我们向消费领域的扩展,我相信PuppComm系统将在希望为其宠物提供最佳服务的狗主人中找到一个强大的市场。"

Have a Question?

PuppTech Creates Monitoring and Notification System to Protect Pets in Vehicles

PuppTech
"Digi provided design resources, helped us create a workable design, and even helped us pull together a bill of materials. They’ve really helped us get to where we are today."

William Loopesko, founder - PuppTech

When dog owners transport their dogs, safety is paramount – especially when circumstances force them to leave their dogs unattended in a vehicle. PuppTech is a Colorado startup devoted to helping dog owners care for their dogs when they can’t be with them. Their first product, the PuppComm system, incorporates an embedded sensor and a Digi XBee® 3 LTE radio to monitor in-vehicle temperatures and send text and email alarms if thresholds are exceeded. Now dog owners can keep tabs on their pets virtually anywhere – and know they are safe.

A Safer Canine Travel Experience

For many dog owners, leaving their companions at home is not an option – whether they are heading to a dog show, a vacation road trip, a weekend hike or around-town errands. But responsible pet owners also recognize there are important safety challenges when they must briefly leave their dogs unattended in a vehicle. Even when outside air temperatures are barely in the 70s (Fahrenheit), a closed vehicle can quickly reach temperatures of 90-100 degrees that endanger their dogs.

For William Loopesko, founder of PuppTech and owner of Clovis, a big happy lab, the safety challenge became a personal quest. “I was six hours from home, hiking in the mountains with my dog and my father,” he said. “When we stopped for a meal on the way home, I couldn’t bring the dog into the restaurant, so I had to check on him every few minutes. When I later talked to the veterinarian about the situation, he suggested leaving the dog at home – but that’s not why I have a dog. And that was what let me to create the PuppComm system.”

From Startup Idea to Rapid Development

PuppTech turned to the startup certification program co-sponsored by Arrow Electronics and Indiegogo to find support for development of the PuppComm system, its flagship hardware/software product. The Arrow team recommended Digi International as a resource, including Digi’s pre-certified cellular modules for fast time-to-market.

In a whirlwind three-day crowdfunding effort, PuppTech earned its needed startup funds and launched development. All along the way, the dog community has shown excitement for the product, which they recognize fills a critical need.

The Connected Environmental Monitoring Solution for Dogs

The PuppComm system is a portable, connected environmental monitoring solution for dogs that can be deployed in cars, crates, kennels, RVs and other spaces. Measuring 3 inches x 3 inches x 1 inch, the PuppComm device monitors air temperature and humidity and sends measurements to a cloud-based server every 30 seconds using a 4G LTE connection. If the readings exceed tolerances, the PuppComm device issues text and email alerts to the dog owner.

The PuppComm system utilizes a proprietary BSCUIT algorithm to determine optimal temperature for the dog. It also includes an iOS and Android app to configure the individualized settings. These settings include the dog’s breed, age, weight, and other factors that are used to calculate the right temperature range for each dog. The device includes a self-contained battery and micro-USB charger, a Wi-Fi module for device-to-device local communication, and a microphone.

One of the keys to PuppComm is the embedded Digi XBee 3 Cellular LTE-M/NB-IoT modem that is integrated onto the proprietary circuit board.

“I realized that the product also has to have a cellular connection because in most cases, the vehicles won’t have Wi-Fi access,” said Loopesko. “We started to work with Digi, and that was a great experience. Digi provided design resources, helped us create a workable design, and even helped us pull together a bill of materials. They’ve really helped us get to where we are today.”

The Digi XBee 3 Cellular LTE modem is pre-certified, which enables developers to quickly integrate wireless connectivity. The Digi XBee 3 Cellular LTE module is suitable for moderate bandwidth (typically <25 MB per month) and low-cost IoT applications, and is cost-competitive with legacy 2G/3G standard devices.

“I love that the Digi XBee is a pre-certified modem. That has saved us lots of time and money. We can use the LTE connection to send over-the-air firmware updates to keep everything working smoothly.”

Keeping Fido Safe on the Road

The PuppComm device attaches to a seat headrest, the handle above the window, or other location out of direct sunlight. The PuppComm system includes a sticker visible to those outside the vehicle that reads, “This dog is being protected by PuppTech Technology” along with a unique PuppComm identifier. That way, passersby can scan a QR code or text a code to check on the dog and get the temperature inside the vehicle before making any drastic intervention.

According to Loopesko, PuppComm is first targeting the community of professional working-dog handlers – the people and animals who work in the military and police on search/rescue and assorted missions. “These aren’t pets – they’re valuable, hard-working animals,” he said, “and they remain in the car for long stretches of time.” Another key market are those attending dog shows, as the members of this community are always on the road or sitting in parked vehicles waiting for their session in the event.

The PuppComm system helps mitigate the risks and uncertainty that can arise in those scenarios. “As we expand into the consumer sector, I believe the PuppComm system will find a strong market among dog owners who want the best for their pets.”