有问题吗?

边缘计算

边缘计算-索引-(1).jpg

边缘计算如何工作以及为什么它是一个
改变游戏规则

边缘计算是在网络边缘进行的数据处理,以减少延迟并降低对云计算和数据中心资源的需求。边缘计算发生在智能设备中--就在传感器和其他仪器收集和处理数据的地方--在设备连接到物联网(IoT)并发送数据供企业应用和人员进一步使用之前加快处理。

边缘计算增长的主要原因是效率。所有这些收集到的数据都需要在某个地方进行处理。而随着物联网数据量的增加,越来越多的处理是在边缘进行的。今天的连接设备更加智能,使得有能力对 "边缘人工智能"--边缘人工智能--进行编程,这是边缘智能的一个增长趋势。

凭借在快速发展的物联网行业几十年的经验,Digi拥有完整的产品,可利用边缘计算功能优化物联网应用。

只提供重要的数据

在物联网中,大量的数据被收集在网络边缘,但并非所有的数据都是有用的。平均而言,大多数监测数据往往是标准的 "心跳 "数据。如果数据没有明显的变化,这意味着事情运作良好。例如,将数小时的数据发送到一个遥远的数据中心,显示一台机器的生命体征没有变化,这就没有意义了。

在过去,公司会将所有的监测数据发送到云端或企业数据中心进行处理、分析和存储。然而,随着物联网的发展,数据量使得这种方法不切实际。这就是边缘计算进入画面的地方。

边缘计算在靠近数据发源地的地方进行处理。这可以大大减少甚至消除将数据传输到云或企业数据中心所需的带宽成本。有些应用确实需要在边缘检查数据。然后,一个智能或人工智能支持的边缘计算过程可以立即评估情况是否需要实时响应,或将其发送到数据中心进行分析。

在边缘收集的数据大致可分为三种类型。

  1. 它不需要进一步的行动,也不需要储存。
  2. 应保留它,以便日后分析和/或保存记录
  3. 它要求立即作出反应

边缘计算的任务是区分这些类型的数据,确定需要何种级别的响应并采取相应的行动。在大多数情况下,在收集数据的边缘执行这些功能要有效得多。

当异常数据出现时,可能需要采取行动。边缘计算由于其物理上的接近性和由此产生的低延迟,可以对本地事件作出近乎实时的反应。不需要从边缘到云端再返回的数据往返。此外,减少网络上的数据流可以大大节省带宽,从而大大降低网络成本,特别是对于无线蜂窝连接。

Digi Solutions for Edge Compute

Digi提供广泛的产品选择,用于在应用中建立边缘智能,并以高性能的连接方式连接边缘设备。

用于物联网的Digi嵌入式系统
系统模块,如 Digi ConnectCore® 8Xconnectcore-8x.jpg 提供多个处理单元,在网络边缘执行人工智能和计算机视觉任务。强大的GPU和CPU内核可以运行神经网络,并支持OpenCL/OpenCV,用于机器学习和机器视觉应用,从而在边缘以低功率实现实时性能。Digi ConnectCore 8X结构紧凑(40 mm x 45 mm),是基于恩智浦i.MX 8X应用处理器的系统模块(SOM),也具有以下优势 Digi SMTplus® 表面贴装的形式因素,在提高设计灵活性的同时降低了制造成本。
Digi XBee 3 蜂窝模块
digi-xbee3-cellular-lte-cat-1.jpg这些智能调制解调器集成了MicroPython,使嵌入式开发人员能够完全控制其部署的设备的边缘计算功能的行为。如今,开发人员正在使用全套的Digi XBee工具,将业务逻辑集成到Digi XBee 3模块中,以极大地提高其物联网项目的能力和效率。
Digi Routers and Gateways
无论是有线还是蜂窝电话,这些设备都发挥着边缘计算网关的功能,聚集数据,将其从模拟转换为数字,并在通过网络传输之前对其进行加密。 digi-ix20.jpg这时的数据量是最大的,特别是在数百个规模的传感器同时收集数据的用例中。出于这个原因,路由器还对数据进行过滤和压缩,以尽量减少带宽需求。 Digi路由器也可以脱机运行。例如,如果部署在远程地点,它们可以定期收集和存储数据,然后根据需要定期重新建立连接以传输信息。不需要与网络永久连接。
Digi Remote Manager®(远程管理器)。
digi-remote-manager-5-29-20-web.jpgDigi的物联网设备管理平台使开发者能够将边缘功能集成到他们的部署中。 有了Digi RM,团队可以通过固件更新迅速将边缘功能推送给他们的远程设备。 此外,Digi RM还与亚马逊网络服务和微软Azure等云和边缘平台集成,提供一个管理界面,整合从数据中心到边缘的整个计算堆栈。
 

边缘计算在行动 - 使用案例

物联网的巨大发展推动了边缘计算能力和用例的相应扩展。以下仅仅代表了不断增长的边缘计算应用的一小部分。

  • 制造业。工业环境中的自适应诊断可以提高机器和设备的正常运行时间,减少服务费用。边缘计算机生成的错误代码与历史维修信息相结合,可以为技术人员提供背景,加快故障排除和维修。
  • 智能城市。边缘计算使公共建筑和设施得到监控,以提高照明、供暖等方面的效率。在交通管理应用中,摄像头和信号灯可以改善安全和交通流。在不久的将来,接近零延迟的自动驾驶汽车将是实时边缘计算最明显和最引人注目的例子。
  • 医疗保健。可穿戴设备可以存储心率、温度和其他指标的信息,然后提供用药提醒。此外,边缘计算使开发者能够确保敏感数据,如医疗图像,不离开设备,以加强安全和隐私。
物联网边缘
 

生活在边缘

2018年,只有不到10%的企业数据是在边缘创建和处理的。分析公司Gartner预计,到2025年,这个数字将达到75%。1因此,很多现在还没有使用边缘计算的企业,很快就会使用。

对于一个成功的边缘计算解决方案,重要的是要选择足够耐用的设备,以便在恶劣的边缘环境中长期--通常是多年--可靠地运行。同样重要的是,要与拥有经验和专业知识的合作伙伴合作,以组装构成这种解决方案所需的硬件和软件。

Digi可以在边缘计算规划和部署的任何方面帮助你,从确定战略,到边缘智能编程,到构建你的解决方案。请与我们联系,开始对话。



1Rob van der Meulen,"边缘计算有望提供近乎实时的洞察力并促进本地化行动,"Smarter with Gartner,2018年10月3日,https://www.gartner.com/smarterwithgartner/what-edge-computing-means-for-infrastructure-and-operations-leaders/
 
观看我们的视频
了解Digi SOM解决方案如何加快上市时间。

Have a Question?

Edge Computing

edge-compute-index-(1).jpg

How Edge Compute Works and Why It's a
Game-Changer

Edge compute is the data processing that takes place at the network edge to decrease latency and reduce demands on cloud compute and data center resources. Edge computing takes place in intelligent devices — right at the location where sensors and other instruments are gathering and processing data — to expedite that processing before devices connect to the Internet of Things (IoT) and send the data on for further use by enterprise applications and personnel.

The primary reason for the growth of edge compute is efficiency. All of that collected data needs to be processed somewhere. And as the volume of IoT data has increased, more and more of the processing is taking place at the edge. Connected devices today are smarter, enabling the ability to program "edge AI" — artificial intelligence at the edge — a growing trend in edge intelligence.

With decades of experience in the rapidly evolving IoT industry, Digi has a complete product offering for optimizing IoT applications with edge compute functionality.

Delivering Only the Important Data

In IoT, massive amounts of data are collected at the edge of the network, but not all of it is useful. On average, most monitoring data tends to be standard “heartbeat” data. If the data isn’t changing significantly, that means things are working well. For example, it wouldn’t make sense to send hours of data to a distant data center, showing that a machine's vital signs haven’t changed.

In the past, companies would send all of their monitoring data into the cloud or to a corporate data center for processing, analysis and storage. As the IoT has grown, however, the volume of data makes this approach impractical. This is where edge compute enters the picture.

Edge compute performs processing close to where the data originates. That can greatly reduce or even eliminate the cost of the bandwidth needed to transmit it to the cloud or the corporate data center. Some applications do need to examine data at the edge. An intelligent or AI-enabled edge compute process can then immediately assess whether the situation demands a response in real time, or send it on to the data center for analysis.

Data collected at the edge falls into roughly three types:

  1. It needs no further action and does not need to be stored
  2. It should be retained for later analysis and/or record keeping
  3. It requires an immediate response

The mission of edge computing is to distinguish between these types of data, identify what level of response is required and act on it accordingly. In most cases it’s far more efficient to perform these functions right there at the edge, where the data is being collected.

When outlier data appears, action may need to be taken. Edge computing can provide a near real-time response to local events thanks to its physical proximity and resulting low latency. No round-trip of data from the edge to the cloud and back again is needed. In addition, the reduced flow of data over the network can produce substantial savings in bandwidth and thus significantly lower networking costs, especially for wireless cellular connections.

Digi Solutions for Edge Compute

Digi delivers a broad product selection for building edge intelligence into applications and connecting edge devices with high-performance connectivity:

Digi Embedded Systems for IoT
System-on-Modules such as the Digi ConnectCore® 8Xconnectcore-8x.jpg provide multiple processing units to perform AI and Computer Vision tasks at the edge of the network. Powerful GPU and CPU cores to run neural networks, and support for OpenCL/OpenCV for machine learning and machine vision applications, enable real time performance at low power at the edge. The compact (40 mm x 45 mm) Digi ConnectCore 8X, a system-on-module (SOM) based on the NXP i.MX 8X application processor, also offers the benefits of the Digi SMTplus® surface-mount form factor, which reduces manufacturing costs while increasing design flexibility.
Digi XBee 3 Cellular modules
digi-xbee3-cellular-lte-cat-1.jpgThese smart modems have MicroPython integration, enabling embedded developers to fully control the behaviors of their deployed devices' edge compute functionality. Developers today are using the full range of Digi XBee Tools to integrate business logic into Digi XBee 3 modules to dramatically enhance the capabilities and efficiency of their IoT projects.
Digi Routers and Gateways
Whether wired or cellular, these devices perform the edge compute gateway functions of aggregating data, converting it from analog into digital and encrypting it before transmitting it over the network. digi-ix20.jpgThe volume of data at this point is at its maximum, especially in use cases where hundreds of sensors at scale are gathering data simultaneously. For that reason, the router also filters and compresses the data to minimize bandwidth requirements. Digi routers can also operate offline. For example, if deployed at a remote location, they could collect and store data periodically, then re-establish a connection at regular intervals to transmit information, as needed. A permanent connection to the network is not required.
Digi Remote Manager®
digi-remote-manager-5-29-20-web.jpgDigi’s IoT device management platform enables developers to integrate edge functionality into their deployments. With Digi RM, teams can quickly push edge functionality out to their remote devices via firmware updates. Additionally Digi RM integrates with cloud and edge platforms like Amazon Web Services and Microsoft Azure, providing a management interface that integrates the entire compute stack from the data center to the edge.
 

Edge Computing in Action — Use Cases

The huge expansion of IoT has driven a corresponding expansion in edge computing capabilities and use cases. The following represent just a fraction of the growing spectrum of edge computing applications.

  • Manufacturing: Adaptive diagnostics in an industrial setting can be improve the uptime of machines and equipment, cutting service expenses. Edge-compute-generated error codes, combined with historical repair information can provide context for technicians, speeding up troubleshooting and repairs.
  • Smart Cities: Edge compute enables public buildings and facilities to be monitored for greater efficiency in lighting, heating and more. In traffic management applications, cameras and signals can improve safety and traffic flow. In the near future, autonomous vehicles, where near-zero latency is critical, will be the most visible and dramatic examples of real-time edge computing.
  • Healthcare: Wearable devices can store information on heart rate, temperature, and other metrics, then provide reminders for medication. In addition, edge computing enables developers to ensure sensitive data, such as medical imagery, does leave the device to enhance security and privacy.
IoT Edge
 

Living on the Edge

In 2018, less than 10 percent of enterprise data was created and processed at the edge. Analyst firm Gartner expects that by 2025, that number will reach 75 percent.1 Thus, a lot of organizations that are not using edge compute now, soon will be.

For a successful edge computing solution, it’s important to choose devices that are durable enough to function reliably for extended periods — often years — in harsh edge environments. It’s also important to work with a partner who has both the experience and the expertise to assemble the hardware and software needed to make up such a solution.

Digi can help you with any aspect of your edge compute planning and deployment, from defining a strategy, to programming edge intelligence, to building out your solution. Contact us to start the conversation.



1 Rob van der Meulen, “Edge computing promises near real-time insights and facilitates localized actions,” Smarter with Gartner, October 3, 2018, https://www.gartner.com/smarterwithgartner/what-edge-computing-means-for-infrastructure-and-operations-leaders/
 
Watch Our Video
Learn how Digi SOM solutions expedite time-to-market.