有问题吗?

SD-WAN: 软件定义的广域网

SD-WAN图解

什么是SD-WAN?

SD-WANs是软件定义的广域网,它使用软件根据现有的最快、最经济和最有效的方法来智能地路由网络流量。这可能是多协议标签交换(MPLS),无线LTE,或宽带互联网。执行路由的SD-WAN设备是 "应用感知 "的,因此它们可以识别哪些应用和数据具有最高的业务优先级和最严格的安全或隐私要求。

Digi如何支持SD-WAN

Digi的解决方案包括企业级的蜂窝设备,在分支站点的SD-WAN设备和数据中心之间提供连接。此外,Digi Remote Manager®提供基于SAAS的与第三方网络服务的整合,以实现额外的边缘功能。

基本的SD-WAN操作
 

SD-WAN如何工作

在大型、地理上分散的企业所使用的传统广域网(WANs)中,应用程序通常被托管在总部的数据中心。然后,应用流量通过专线连接往返于数据中心,即使大部分用户可能在外地办公室工作,即使应用本身可能基于云并通过互联网供用户访问。这个过程涉及到大量的回程,减缓了应用程序的性能,导致用户的生产力受到影响。另外,不用说,承载所有这些流量的带宽也不便宜。

SD-WAN提供了一种更灵活的方法--使企业能够保留他们的专线专用网络,同时用动态路径选择来补充。由于SD-WANs中几乎普遍使用基于IPsec的VPN,这就允许使用多种传输机制--包括消费者宽带--而不损失安全性。

Digi提供SD-WAN的灵活性

Digi是一个与SD-WAN无关的供应商。这意味着,Digi蜂窝路由器可以通过向SD-WAN设备提供安全、优化的LTE移交来补充SD-WAN部署。这种安排,将无线LTE路由器置于SD-WAN设备之外,比传统的WAN解决方案更加灵活和经济。无线LTE还提供了快速部署的好处,特别是在偏远地区。IT团队可以补充他们想要使用的任何SD-WAN设备的功能,通过以太网电缆提供与LTE网络的连接,然后再连接到SD-WAN设备。

Digi EX15手机扩展器

虽然有些SD-WAN设备的以太网端口很少,但可以将Digi LTE蜂窝扩展器插入SD-WAN设备的一个端口,然后将网络交换机连接到SD-WAN设备的另一个端口。这种方法的一个重要好处是,不需要为了适应5G或任何其他新技术而更换SD-WAN设备。只需换掉LTE路由器,然后根据需要在这些设备中获得尽可能多的连接,以提供故障转移带外管理或辅助WAN连接等功能。

由于Digi与SD-WAN供应商无关,我们的安全LTE设备几乎可以支持任何现有的SD-WAN部署。考虑采用SD-WAN技术的公司可以与Digi合作,找到符合其要求的正确解决方案,将Digi蜂窝解决方案与所选择的SD-WAN供应商解决方案相结合。

Digi实现5G时代的SD-WAN

Digi的解决方案是专门为SD-WAN而设计的--既适用于目前的4G LTE,也适用于即将到来的5G选项。高频5G的到来突出了在SD-WAN实施中使用单独的LTE路由器的另一个好处。5G的特点使得无线天线的最佳物理位置至关重要。你可以远程安装LTE无线电,即建筑中接收最佳信号的位置,然后通过以太网电缆将其驱动回来。这种策略不仅功能更强,成本效益更高,而且随着公司开始向5G技术过渡,它将成为强制性的。

SD-WAN的另一个好处是零接触配置,它使IT团队能够远程修改设备的配置,这一功能可通过Digi Remote Manager --Digi的远程设备监控和管理解决方案来实现。Digi Remote Manager ,管理员可同时向网络上的数百台设备推送软件变更,并获得对所有部署设备的完全可见性和控制。

SD-WAN的未来。灵活、安全和具有成本效益

SD-WAN的未来。灵活、安全和具有成本效益

随着企业为其基于云的业务应用寻求更多的灵活性和控制力,难怪SD-WAN在网络基础设施市场上占据了越来越大的份额。事实上,据IDC的研究人员称,到2022年,SD-WAN的实施预计将以40%的速度增长。 2  

Digi蜂窝扩展器和其他兼容SD-WAN的解决方案可以支持你的客户的长期网络战略,无论这些战略是什么。凭借其灵活性、安全性和成本优势,SD-WAN值得任何寻求升级其网络基础设施的组织关注。

 
1Software-Defined Wide Area Network (SD-WAN) Market,MarketsandMarkets.com, March 2019https://www.marketsandmarkets.com/Market-Reports/software-defined-wan-market-53110642.html
2Michael Cooney,"多云、安全整合推动SD-WAN的大规模采用",《网络世界》,2020年2月18日https://www.networkworld.com/article/3527194/multicloud-security-integration-drive-massive-sd-wan-adoption.html
 
 
下载我们的物联网管理白皮书
了解物联网设备管理的情况Digi Remote Manager

Upcoming Webinar: Robust Solutions for Connected Systems in Buildings x
Have a Question?

SD-WAN: Software-Defined Wide Area Network

SD-WAN Graphic

What is SD-WAN?

SD-WANs are Software-Defined Wide Area Networks that use software to intelligently route network traffic based on the fastest, most cost-effective and efficient method available. That may be multi-protocol label switching (MPLS), wireless LTE, or broadband Internet. SD-WAN appliances that perform the routing are “application aware,” so they can recognize which application and data have the highest business priority and the strictest security or privacy requirements.

How Digi supports SD-WAN

Digi solutions include enterprise-level cellular devices that provide the connectivity between the SD-WAN appliance at the branch site and the data center. Additionally, Digi Remote Manager® provides SAAS-based integration with third party web services for additional edge functionality.

Basic SD-WAN Operation
 

How SD-WAN Works

In the traditional wide-area networks (WANs) used by large, geographically dispersed enterprises, applications are often hosted in a headquarters data center. Application traffic is then routed to and from the data center over a leased-line connection, even though the bulk of the users may be working in field offices, and even though the applications themselves may be based in the cloud and accessible to users over the Internet. That process involves a lot of backhaul, slowing application performance and causing user productivity to suffer. Also, needless to say, the bandwidth to carry all that traffic is not cheap.

SD-WAN offers a more flexible approach — enabling organizations to keep their leased-line private networks in place, while supplementing them with dynamic pathway selection. This allows the use of multiple transport mechanisms — including consumer broadband — with no loss in security, thanks to the nearly universal use of IPsec-based VPNs in SD-WANs.

Digi delivers SD-WAN flexibility

Digi is an SD-WAN-agnostic supplier. This means that Digi cellular routers can complement an SD-WAN deployment by providing a secure, optimzed LTE hand-off to the SD-WAN appliance. This arrangement, with the wireless LTE router outside of the SD-WAN appliance, is more flexible and cost-effective than a traditional WAN solution. Wireless LTE also offers the benefit of rapid deployment, especially in remote areas. IT teams can supplement the capabilities of whatever SD-WAN appliance they want to use by providing connectivity to the LTE network through an Ethernet cable, which then connects to the SD-WAN appliance.

Digi EX15 Cellular Extender

Although some SD-WAN appliances have very few Ethernet ports, it’s possible to plug a Digi LTE cellular extender into one port of the SD-WAN appliance, and then connect the network switch to another port on the SD-WAN appliance. A significant benefit of this approach is that there’s no need to replace the SD-WAN appliance in order to adapt to 5G or any other new technology. Simply swap out the LTE router and then get as many connections in those devices as are needed to provide capabilities such as failover, out-of-band management, or a secondary WAN connection.

Because Digi is SD-WAN vendor agnostic, our our secure LTE devices can support virtually any existing SD-WAN deployment. Companies considering SD-WAN technology can partner with Digi to find the right solution for their requirements, combining Digi cellular solutions with the chosen SD-WAN vendor solution.

Digi enables SD-WAN for the 5G era

Digi solutions are purpose-built for SD-WAN — both for the current 4G LTE and upcoming 5G options. The arrival of high-frequency 5G highlights another benefit of using a separate LTE router within an SD-WAN implementation. The characteristics of 5G make the optimum physical placement of the wireless antenna essential. You can mount the LTE radio remotely, the location in the building that receives the best signal, and then drive it back through an Ethernet cable. This strategy is not only more functional and cost-effective, but it's going to become mandatory as companies start transitioning to 5G technologies.

Another benefit of SD-WAN is zero-touch provisioning, which enables IT teams to modify the configuration of devices remotely, a feature available with Digi Remote Manager — Digi's remote device monitoring and management solution. Digi Remote Manager lets administrators push software changes out to hundreds of devices on the network simultaneously and gain complete visibility and control over all deployed devices.

The SD-WAN Future: Flexible, secure and cost effective

The SD-WAN Future: Flexible, secure and cost effective

As organizations seek more flexibility and control for their cloud-based business applications, it’s no wonder that SD-WAN is claiming an increasing segment of the network infrastructure marketplace. In fact, SD-WAN implementations are expected to grow at a rate of 40% through 2022, according to researchers at IDC. 2  

Digi cellular extenders and other SD-WAN-compatible solutions can support your customers’ long-term network strategies, whatever those might be. And with its flexibility, security and cost advantages, SD-WAN is worth a look for any organization seeking to upgrade its network infrastructure.

 
1 Software-Defined Wide Area Network (SD-WAN) Market, MarketsandMarkets.com, March 2019 https://www.marketsandmarkets.com/Market-Reports/software-defined-wan-market-53110642.html
2 Michael Cooney, “Multicloud, security integration drive massive SD-WAN adoption,” Network World, Feb 18, 2020  https://www.networkworld.com/article/3527194/multicloud-security-integration-drive-massive-sd-wan-adoption.html
 
 
Download Our Managing IoT White Paper
Learn about IoT device management with Digi Remote Manager