蓝牙标准和技术

蓝牙用于IoT

蓝牙®是一种无线个人区域网络(PAN)协议,设计用于在相对较短的距离内进行通信,(在某些情况下可达一公里),取决于接收器灵敏度、传输功率和天线增益等因素。它在2.4GHz的频率范围内运行,在全球范围内是免许可的。

蓝牙技术最初是为了取代连接个人电脑和手机与其配件和外围设备(如扬声器、耳机和键盘)所需的RS-232数据线。然而,它的发展已经超出了任何人最疯狂的想象,支持从移动POS系统到可穿戴设备到交通管理和工业应用等广泛的使用案例。

蓝牙的简要历史

蓝牙始于1998年,当时成立了蓝牙特别兴趣小组(SIG),这是一个非营利性的贸易协会,由五家公司合作产生。爱立信、IBM、英特尔、诺基亚和东芝。一年后,第一个商业产品被推出。由于其便利性、灵活性和低成本,蓝牙迅速流行起来,并已成为几乎普遍存在于消费产品中,如手机和笔记本电脑。它也是几乎所有新车的标准功能,以支持车载信息娱乐系统,并为司机提供免提通话。

SIG已经从最初的5家公司发展到全球35,000多家会员公司,来自电信、计算机、网络和消费电子等行业。该组织的总部设在华盛顿州的柯克兰市。

今天的蓝牙技术

在消费市场上获得广泛接受后,较新的蓝牙协议使该技术在物联网(IoT)中承担了重要作用。Digi开发平台支持蓝牙,以确保开发人员能够轻松地将这项技术集成到他们的设计中。例如,Digi ConnectCore®系列的系统模块已预先认证为蓝牙连接。Digi XBee®移动SDK帮助客户设计与Digi XBee 3模块互动的蓝牙应用。

xbee-solar-field.png
蓝牙现在有三种不同的协议,每一种都是某些使用情况的最佳选择。虽然蓝牙最初是为短距离使用而设计的,但最新的版本能够将信号传输到一英里。目前可用的三种协议是。蓝牙经典,蓝牙低能量(BLE)和蓝牙网格。

蓝牙经典使用案例和应用实例

蓝牙经典协议是为那些可以每天或每周充电的设备设计的,因此它最适合于规模有限的网络。它被设计用来在短距离内以高达2.1Mbps的速度传输高吞吐量的数据。由于最初的设计是为了取代短距离的外围电缆,蓝牙经典通常不能扩展到IoT ,如容纳数百个设备的传感器网络。

蓝牙低能量(BLE)使用案例和应用实例

蓝牙低能耗(最初称为蓝牙智能)支持短距离的低带宽连接,用于不需要处理大型数据流的应用,而电池可能需要持续几个月甚至几年。BLE正在不断地更新。现在的蓝牙5.0,BLE是当今世界上使用的最普遍的无线协议之一。

蓝牙低能耗设备可以靠小型纽扣电池运行,使BLE成为只传输少量数据并需要长时间无人值守运行的设备的良好选择。这种功能支持一系列的医疗设备、可穿戴设备和植入设备,如助听器和除颤器。

温度监测器.jpg

BLE也是定位信标、数字秤、温度监测器、照明控制器和其他低带宽电池操作的应用,以及包括家用电器、健身显示器、智能手表和电视机顶盒遥控器在内的消费产品的热门选择。BLE中的信标旨在支持室内定位系统,可以帮助人们确定他们在零售店、商场或其他建筑物内的位置,以及用于监测系统性能和容错阈值。

BLE设备和芯片可以有很高的成本效益。作为一个点对点的协议,网络的物理规模被限制在传统的蓝牙范围内,即大约30英尺,尽管这个指标根据前面讨论的因素有很大的变化。关于影响蓝牙范围的变量的出色讨论可以在蓝牙网站上找到)。然而,BLE的带宽容量比蓝牙经典低得多,使它不适合媒体流中涉及的数据量。

提供对蓝牙低能量支持的Digi开发解决方案包括Digi ConnectCore 6UL、Digi ConnectCore 8X和Digi ConnectCore 8M Nano模块。此外,Digi XBee 3模块集成了BLE,作为希望将其应用连接到移动设备的开发人员的无线连接选项,实现了使用手机或平板电脑来设置和测试无线网络。

蓝牙网状物的使用案例和应用实例

2017年推出的蓝牙网(BT Mesh)扩展了点对点的BLE,以创建网状网络,其中节点充当中继器,将网络扩展到任何一个设备的范围之外。作为网状网络形成的网络可以将信息转发和路由到远远超出其名义范围的目的地,形成非常大的物理网络,可以扩展到包括数百个设备。这些网络是自我形成和自我修复的,在类似于Zigbee的存储和转发父子关系中,对终端设备提供睡眠支持。蓝牙网格还提供低成本、低能耗和良好的安全性。

蓝牙网状网络能够控制、监测和自动化数百个连接设备,用于管理智能建筑和一系列其他工业IoT (IIoT)应用。蓝牙Mesh最初是为照明市场设计的,由于路由器节点需要持续供电,照明是一个很好的应用,因为大多数灯都可以获得全时供电。传感器网络也可以由蓝牙Mesh支持,但传感器本身需要在有全时电源的地方实现。

IoT 应用的蓝牙

不同类型的蓝牙现在正被用于各种不同的、不断增长的IoT 。以下是蓝牙的许多使用案例的例子。

蓝牙-图表.jpg
  • 资产跟踪和定位服务。实时定位服务(RTLS)解决方案用于跟踪资产和人员,无论是工厂或仓库中的设备和工人,还是医院中的医疗设备和工作人员,都可以准确定位。
  • 建筑自动化。无线蓝牙连接基本建筑系统的集中自动化--包括照明、安全和加热、通风和空调(HVAC)--可以帮助节约能源,降低运营成本,并延长建筑核心系统的寿命。
  • 状态监测。在整个工厂车间大规模部署的传感器网络能够对系统性能进行实时监测,以减少维护,改善应用更新,并提高整体运营效率。
  • 水箱监测。蓝牙连接对重要的通知很有用,例如在采用Digi Connect® Sensor+等设备的储罐和阀门监测应用中。它通过蓝牙为当地安装人员、技术人员或司机提供传感器数值的即时反馈。
  • 智能交通管理系统(ITS)。在过往车辆中检测到的蓝牙设备可以提供道路上的车辆数量和速度等信息,以支持实时高速公路标志牌更新、自适应交通控制和紧急车辆的路由等应用。这些应用的 "蓝牙扫描 "可由Digi TX54Digi TX64路由器执行。此外,具有蓝牙功能的路由器可以为交通系统维护人员提供连接和数据通信。
  • 医疗应用。用于病人监测和诊断的无线蓝牙功能使护理人员和医务人员能够立即获得关键信息。医疗用例包括可穿戴设备,以帮助诊断病情、用药和传输病人信息。
  • 联系追踪:COVID-19大流行病表明,技术可以协助阻止病毒传播。蓝牙可以支持准确的接触者追踪,实时跟踪、记录和发送数据,以便快速反应。
  • 共享单车和租赁应用。在城市或度假区监控和维护出租自行车和滑板车的员工可以在外地使用蓝牙应用来检查电池和其他系统。城市自行车和滑板车租赁是另一个使用案例,使用Digi XBee Cellular LTE-M/NB-IoT设备与蓝牙信标。
  • 太阳能和风力发电场。大多数太阳能或风电场的安装包括连接到每个太阳能电池板或涡轮机的无线电模块。使用蓝牙,技术人员可以通过读数来评估当前值、生产力或服务需求。
  • 门票验证系统。体育赛事、音乐会和其他有大量人群的活动可以使用配备蓝牙的阅读器,用条形码或二维码验证门票。
  • 寻路。蓝牙室内定位系统(IPS)已迅速成为克服GPS室内覆盖难题的标准,帮助游客在大型公共场所,从机场和火车站到博物馆和体育场馆中导航。

使用Digi XBee Mobile SDK构建蓝牙应用

digi-xbee-mobile-sdk.png

Digi XBee 3系列蜂窝调制解调器包括集成的蓝牙低能量,用于通过移动设备进行本地配置和控制。Digi提供Digi XBee Mobile SDK(软件开发工具包),帮助工程师加快使用XBee的蓝牙应用的设计和开发。Digi XBee Mobile SDK是一套库、代码示例和文档,有助于简化创建通过蓝牙与Digi XBee 3模块互动的iOS和Android移动应用的过程。

将蓝牙添加到IoT 应用程序中,为网络的调试、配置和故障排除增加了巨大的价值。但是,创建一个移动应用程序来整合IoT 应用程序和移动设备可能很棘手,在设计一个支持蓝牙的移动应用程序时涉及复杂的认证和加密。Digi XBee 移动SDK提供支持,以简化和加快这些过程。

蓝牙的增长和未来的机会

根据蓝牙技术联盟发布的2021年蓝牙市场更新报告,预计到2025年,蓝牙技术每年的出货量将超过60亿台设备。报告指出,今天的关键蓝牙用例和市场需求包括音频流、数据传输、位置服务和设备网络。此外,该组织预测。

  • 2021年至2025年的复合年增长率为10%。
  • 2025年,70%的蓝牙设备将是外围设备
  • 2021年至2025年,单模蓝牙LE设备的年出货量增长3倍

任何设计、建造或受益于无线连接的组织在IoT ,都需要将蓝牙纳入其短期和长期规划。诚然,蓝牙只是市场上几种无线技术中的一种。然而,随着许多行业利用其优势--如成本效益、安全性和易用性--每个组织都必须评估蓝牙集成的潜在用例,以推动新功能和投资回报。

今天就联系Digi,讨论蓝牙在你的下一个IoT 项目中的位置,或获得设计和开发支持,将你的想法推向市场。

下载我们的OEM指南

了解快速进入市场的开发解决方案

Bluetooth Standards and Technology

Bluetooth for IoT

Bluetooth® is a wireless personal area network (PAN) protocol designed for communicating over relatively short distances, (up to a kilometer in some cases) depending on factors such as receiver sensitivity, transmission power and antenna gain. It operates in the 2.4 GHz frequency range, which is license-free, globally.

Bluetooth technology was originally created to replace the RS-232 data cables needed to connect personal computers and cell phones to their accessories and peripherals, such as speakers, headsets and keyboards. Yet it has grown beyond anyone’s wildest imagination to support a vast range of use cases from mobile POS systems to wearables to traffic management and industrial applications.

A Brief History of Bluetooth

Bluetooth began in 1998 with the launch of the Bluetooth Special Interest Group (SIG), a not-for-profit trade association that grew out of a partnership between five companies: Ericsson, IBM, Intel, Nokia, and Toshiba. The first commercial product was introduced a year later. Thanks to its convenience, flexibility and low-cost, Bluetooth quickly grew in popularity and has become almost universally available in consumer products such as mobile phones and laptops. It’s also a standard feature in virtually all new cars, to support in-vehicle infotainment systems and enable hands-free calling for drivers.

SIG has grown from the original group of five to more than 35,000 member companies worldwide, coming from industries such as telecommunications, computing, networking and consumer electronics. The organization is based in Kirkland, Washington.

Bluetooth Technology Today

After gaining widespread acceptance in consumer markets, newer Bluetooth protocols have enabled the technology to assume a major role in the Internet of Things (IoT). Digi development platforms support Bluetooth to ensure developers can integrate this technology into their designs with ease. For example, the Digi ConnectCore® family of system-on-modules comes pre-certified for Bluetooth connectivity. The Digi XBee® Mobile SDK helps customers design Bluetooth applications that interact with Digi XBee 3 modules.

xbee-solar-field.png
Bluetooth is now available in three different protocols, each of which is optimal for certain use cases. And while Bluetooth was originally designed for short range use, the latest versions are capable of transmitting signals up to a mile. The three currently available protocols are: Bluetooth Classic, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) and Bluetooth Mesh.

Bluetooth Classic Use Cases and Application Examples

The Bluetooth Classic protocol is designed for devices that can be recharged on a daily or weekly basis, making it best suited to networks that are limited in size. It is designed to stream high-throughput data at up to 2.1 Mbps over short distances. Having been initially designed to replace short-range peripheral cables, Bluetooth Classic is generally not scalable for IoT applications like sensor networks hosting hundreds of devices.

Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Use Cases and Application Examples

Bluetooth Low Energy (originally called Bluetooth Smart) supports low-bandwidth connections over short distances in applications that don’t need to handle large data streams, and where batteries may have to last months or even years. BLE is constantly being updated. Now at Bluetooth 5.0, BLE is one of the most ubiquitous wireless protocols in use worldwide today.

Bluetooth Low Energy devices can be run off small coin batteries, making BLE a good choice for devices that transmit only small amounts of data and need to run unattended for extended periods of time. This functionality supports a range of medical devices, wearables and implantables, such as hearing aids and defibrillators.

temperature-monitor.jpg

BLE is also a popular choice for applications such as location beacons, digital scales, temperature monitors, lighting controllers, and other low-bandwidth battery-operated applications, as well as for consumer products including home appliances, fitness monitors, smart watches and TV set-top box remote controls. Beaconing in BLE is designed to support indoor positioning systems that can help people determine their location inside a retail store, mall or other building, as well as for monitoring system performance and tolerance thresholds.

BLE devices and chips can be highly cost-effective. As a point-to-point protocol, the physical size of networks is limited to the traditional Bluetooth range of about 30 feet, although this metric varies widely based on factors discussed earlier. (An excellent discussion of the variables affecting Bluetooth range can be found on the Bluetooth website.) However, BLE has much lower bandwidth capacity than Bluetooth Classic, making it unsuitable for the volume of data involved in media streaming.

Digi development solutions that provide support for Bluetooth Low Energy include Digi ConnectCore 6UL, Digi ConnectCore 8X and Digi ConnectCore 8M Nano modules. Additionally, Digi XBee 3 modules integrate BLE as a wireless connectivity option for developers wanting to connect their applications to mobile devices, enabling the use of a phone or tablet to set up and test wireless networks.

Bluetooth Mesh Use Cases and Application Examples

Bluetooth Mesh (BT Mesh), which was launched in 2017, extends point-to-point BLE to create mesh networks where nodes act as relays to extend the network beyond the range of any one device. Networks formed as a mesh can forward and route messages to destinations well beyond their nominal range, forming very large physical networks that can scale to include hundreds of devices. The networks are self-forming and self-healing, with sleep support for end devices in a store-and-forward parent/child relationship similar to Zigbee. Bluetooth Mesh also offers low-cost, low-energy use and good security.

Bluetooth Mesh networks are capable of controlling, monitoring, and automating hundreds of connected devices for managing smart buildings and a range of other industrial IoT (IIoT) applications. Bluetooth Mesh was initially designed for the lighting market and because the router nodes need to be powered continuously, lighting is an excellent application, since most lights have access to full-time power. Sensor networks can also be supported by Bluetooth Mesh, but the sensors themselves need to be implemented where full-time power is available.

Bluetooth for IoT Applications

Bluetooth in its different flavors is now being used in a diverse and growing variety of IoT applications. Here are examples of the many use cases for Bluetooth.

bluetooth-diagram.jpg
  • Asset tracking and location services: Real-time location service (RTLS) solutions are used for tracking assets and people, whether it’s pinpointing the location of equipment and workers in a factory or warehouse, or medical devices and staff in a hospital.
  • Building automation: Wireless Bluetooth connectivity in the centralized automation of essential building systems — including lighting, security, and heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) — can help conserve energy, lower operating costs, and extend the lifespan of a building’s core systems.
  • Condition monitoring: Sensor networks deployed at scale across a factory floor enable real-time monitoring of system performance to reduce maintenance, improve application updating, and increase overall operating efficiency.
  • Tank monitoring: Bluetooth connectivity is useful for critical notifications, such as in tank and valve monitoring applications that employ devices like Digi Connect® Sensor+. It provides local installers, technicians or drivers instant feedback from sensor values over Bluetooth.
  • Intelligent Traffic Management Systems (ITS): Bluetooth devices detected in passing vehicles can provide information such as the number and speed of vehicles on the road to support applications like real-time highway signage updates, adaptive traffic control, and routing of emergency vehicles. “Bluetooth scanning” for these applications can be performed by the Digi TX54 and Digi TX64 routers. In addition, routers with Bluetooth capabilities can provide connectivity and data communications for traffic system maintenance crews.
  • Medical applications: Wireless Bluetooth capabilities for patient monitoring and diagnostics make critical information immediately available to caregivers and medical staff. Medical use cases include wearable devices to help diagnose conditions, administer medication and transmit patient information.
  • Contact tracing: The COVID-19 pandemic demonstrated that technology can assist in stopping viral spread. Bluetooth can support accurate contact tracing to track, record and send data in real time for rapid response.
  • Rideshare and rental applications: Employees who monitor and maintain rental bicycles and scooters in cities or resort areas can use Bluetooth applications out in the field to check on batteries and other systems. City bike and scooter rentals are another use case, using Digi XBee Cellular LTE-M/NB-IoT devices with Bluetooth beaconing.
  • Solar and wind farms: Most solar or wind farm installations include radio modules attached to each solar panel or turbine. Using Bluetooth, technicians can take readings to assess current values, productivity or need for service.
  • Ticket validation systems: Sporting events, concerts and other events with large crowds can use Bluetooth-equipped readers to validate tickets with barcodes or QR codes.
  • Wayfinding: Bluetooth indoor positioning systems (IPS) have quickly become the standard for overcoming the indoor coverage challenges of GPS, helping visitors navigate their way through large public spaces, from airports and train stations to museums and sports stadiums.

Building Bluetooth Apps with the Digi XBee Mobile SDK

digi-xbee-mobile-sdk.png

The Digi XBee 3 Series of cellular modems includes integrated Bluetooth Low Energy for local configuration and control via mobile devices. Digi offers the Digi XBee Mobile SDK (Software Development Kit) to help engineers speed the design and development of Bluetooth applications using XBee. The Digi XBee Mobile SDK is a set of libraries, code examples and documentation that helps simplify the process of creating iOS and Android mobile apps that interact with Digi XBee 3 modules via Bluetooth.

Adding Bluetooth to an IoT application adds tremendous value to commissioning, configuration and troubleshooting a network. But creating a mobile app to integrate an IoT application and mobile device can be tricky, with complex authentication and encryption involved in the design of a Bluetooth-enabled mobile app. The Digi XBee Mobile SDK provides the support to simplify and expedite these processes.

Bluetooth Growth and Future Opportunities

Bluetooth technology is expected to ship annually in more than 6 billion devices by 2025, according to the 2021 Bluetooth Market Update from the Bluetooth SIG. The report states that the key Bluetooth use cases and market needs today include audio streaming, data transfer, location services and device networks. Additionally, the organization predicts:

  • 10% CAGR between 2021 and 2025
  • 70% of Bluetooth enabled devices in 2025 will be peripherals
  • 3x growth in annual shipments of single-mode Bluetooth LE devices from 2021 through 2025

Any organization that designs, builds or benefits from wireless connectivity in the IoT needs to include Bluetooth in its short-term and long-term planning. Granted, Bluetooth is only one of several wireless technologies on the market. Yet with so many industries taking advantage of its strengths — such as cost effectiveness, security and ease-of-use — it’s important for every organization to evaluate potential use cases for Bluetooth integration to drive new functionality and ROI.

Contact Digi today to discuss where Bluetooth belongs in your next IoT project, or get design and development support to take your idea to market.

Download Our Guide for OEMs

Learn about development solutions for fast time-to-market