有问题吗?

基于CBRS的私人LTE

3.5GHz频段的Wi-Fi和公共网络的可靠替代品

无线通信已经成为现代生活的必需品。但是,当公共LTE和Wi-Fi网络由于覆盖范围的限制而无法使用,或者由于容量问题而不能很好地工作时,美国的组织越来越多地关注基于公民宽带无线电服务(CBRS)的私人LTE网络的选择,以满足他们的业务连接需求。

什么是私人LTE?

私人LTE网络是基于蜂窝式LTE技术的非公共无线网络。它们基于目前公共LTE网络使用的相同协议和技术。小蜂窝--类似于Wi-Fi接入点--被安装在现场,然后由管理服务提供商(MSP)、场地所有者(如购物中心所有者)或企业客户来操作。然后,用户可以使用他们支持Band 48的蜂窝设备和私人SIM卡来连接到私人LTE网络。

私人LTE网络提供的性能和可靠性是公共LTE或Wi-Fi无法比拟的,而且通常成本更低。它提供不间断的连接,并有能力处理繁重的流量负载,如来自成千上万的物联网设备的数据。它还提供出色的渗透性,能够穿过建筑物的墙壁和其他可能阻挡Wi-Fi信号的障碍物。

私人LTE和CBRS

公民宽带无线服务(CBRS)是一个新的私人LTE网络选项,现在在美国可用。它占据了3.5GHz C波段的150MHz共享频谱,也被称为Band 48(B48)。传统上,这个频段一直保留给美国军事和固定卫星服务的用户。但是,这一频谱最近被FCC批准用于更广泛的用途,为一系列新的应用提供了机会。行业观察家们说,"CBRS将把巨大的无线网络力量交到那些以前从未有过如此有前途和可负担的选择的组织手中 "1

你可以从这个视频中了解更多关于OnGo联盟的CBRS。

对CBRS频谱的访问由三组人共享并积极管理。

  • 第1层。现有的用户,主要是美国海军和卫星地面站
  • 第2级。拥有优先访问许可证(PAL)的用户
  • 第3级。一般授权用户(GAA

三层CBRS架构

CBRS技术是由CBRS联盟开发和推广的,该联盟是一个非营利性行业组织,Digi是其成员。CBRS联盟已经制定了详细的规范和认证计划,以确保所有网络组件的无缝互操作性。

商业利益。为什么使用专用LTE?

与公共LTE或Wi-Fi相比,私有LTE有几个优势。在网络的范围内,它在不拥挤的频谱中提供一个专属的LTE网络。它采用专用设备部署,增加设备和数据容量,并包括公共网络无法实现的内置安全和控制。它是为企业客户量身定做的,使他们能够控制。

这里有一些额外的好处。

  • 隐私。通过专用LTE,数据永远不会离开企业客户的网络。这对高度管制的行业尤其重要,如医疗或金融。 
  • 安全性。SIM级别的设备安全确保设备有一个独特的标识符,并经过适当的验证。这使网络管理员能够严格控制网络上允许哪些设备存在。
  • 灵活性。私人LTE网络可以定制,以满足一个组织的独特应用需求。
  • 容量。私人LTE网络可以使用专用或共享频谱。这使企业客户能够根据其个人需求控制带宽和基础设施的密度。
  • 服务质量(QoS)。蜂窝技术提供比Wi-Fi更好的服务质量,并让客户控制数据流量的优先次序,端到端。
  • 延迟。确定性延迟,即为数据传输设定一个固定的时间长度的能力,在Private LTE中是可用的,这也是由于完全的端到端控制。在设备需要紧密同步的工厂设置中,确定的延迟可能非常重要。
  • 弹性。通过私有LTE,企业客户可以部署更多的小型蜂窝,以增加弹性和正常运行时间。他们还可以允许使用同一蜂窝设备回退到公共LTE(如果需要的话)。
  • 移动性。有了私有LTE,移动性,即各个小蜂窝之间的交接,是无缝的,与用户在公共LTE中的体验相当。私人LTE不会像Wi-Fi那样出现连接损失。
  • 成本。与公共LTE相比,企业客户享有更低的数据传输成本,这在数据量大的情况下是一个特别重要的考虑。此外,虽然单个高功率小蜂窝的成本高于企业级Wi-Fi接入点,但在同一地区提供覆盖所需的小蜂窝数量较少。私人LTE的总拥有成本(TCO)在CBRS联盟的白皮书有所概述)。

使用案例。私人LTE应该部署在哪里?

对于任何数量的地理区域,如海港、矿区或大学校园,或医院、工厂、购物中心或体育场馆等设施内,私人LTE是一个有吸引力的无线选择。它还可以在农村地区提供低成本的 "最后一英里 "连接。

以下是私人LTE的几个有希望的使用案例。

  • 矿区。采矿作业通常覆盖大面积但明确界定的地理区域,在那里可以经济有效地部署高功率基站。私人LTE能够与人员和采矿设备进行可靠、不间断的通信。
  • 海港。随着海港实施自动化的规模越来越大,集装箱货运系统越来越多地使用射频识别,私人LTE使得持续监测设备和跟踪货运流成为可能,从而提高了效率和安全性。
  • 医院。私人LTE提供安全、高性能的连接,使医务人员和管理人员能够分享敏感的医疗文件,同时保证数据安全。
  • 大学或公司的校园。私人LTE可以提供安全、低成本的覆盖,并解决对Wi-Fi来说距离太远的覆盖缺口。 
  • 工厂。制造业中机器人和自动化的使用范围扩大,促使工厂车间的机器之间需要低延迟的连接。私人LTE网络可以连接机器人和物联网设备,并促进更好的过程监测和预测性维护。

Digi已准备好帮助您部署基于CBRS的私人LTE

我们仍然处于私人LTE的早期阶段。然而,业内专家认为,它有可能极大地扩展无线通信的用途,并达到以前未开发的市场和未服务或服务不足的人群。难怪它被称为 "创新波段"。

1Paul Pishal,"很快,所有人都可以到达",ISE杂志,2019年11月1日
https://www.isemag.com/2019/11/telecom-citizens-broadband-radio-service-cbrs-spectrum/
 

如果你对探索私人LTE的未来应用感兴趣,请今天就联系Digi

Upcoming Webinar: Robust Solutions for Connected Systems in Buildings x
Have a Question?

Private LTE based on CBRS

A reliable alternative to Wi-Fi and public networks in the 3.5 GHz band

Wireless communication has become a necessity in modern life. But when public LTE and Wi-Fi networks aren’t available due to coverage limitations or aren’t working well because of capacity issues, organizations in the U.S. are increasingly looking at the option of private LTE networks based on Citizens Broadband Radio Service (CBRS) to meet their business connectivity needs.

What is Private LTE?

Private LTE networks are non-public wireless networks based on cellular LTE technology. They are based on the same protocols and technology that public LTE networks use today. Small cells – similar to Wi-Fi access points – are installed on site and then operated by a managed service provider (MSP), the site owner (such as a shopping mall owner) or by the enterprise customer. Users can then use their Band 48-capable cellular devices with a private SIM to connect to the private LTE network.

A private LTE network offers performance and reliability that public LTE or Wi-Fi alone can’t match, and usually at a much lower cost. It offers uninterrupted connectivity along with the ability to handle heavy traffic loads, such as data coming from thousands of IoT devices. And it offers excellent penetration, with the ability to reach through building walls and other obstacles that might block a Wi-Fi signal.

Private LTE and CBRS

Citizens Broadband Radio Service (CBRS) is a new private LTE network option now available in the U.S. It occupies 150MHz of shared spectrum in the 3.5 GHz C-band, also known as Band 48 (B48). Traditionally, this band had been reserved for users in the U.S. military and fixed satellite service. But this spectrum has recently been approved for broader use by the FCC, opening up opportunities for a range of new applications. Industry observers have said that “CBRS will put enormous wireless networking power into the hands of organizations that have never had such a promising and affordable option before.”1

Access to CBRS spectrum is shared and actively managed among three groups:

  • Tier 1. Incumbent users, primarily the U.S. Navy and satellite ground stations
  • Tier 2. Users with priority access licenses (PALs)
  • Tier 3. General authorized users (GAA)

The Three-Tier CBRS Architecture

CBRS technology is being developed and promoted by the CBRS Alliance, a non-profit industry organization of which Digi is a member. The CBRS Alliance has developed detailed specifications along with a certification program to ensure seamless interoperability for all network components.

Business benefits: Why use Private LTE?

Private LTE has several advantages over public LTE or Wi-Fi. Within the confines of the network, it provides an exclusive LTE network in uncrowded spectrum. It is deployed with dedicated equipment that increases device and data capacity and includes built-in security and controls not possible in public networks. It is tailored to put the enterprise customer in control.

Here are some additional benefits:

  • Privacy: With private LTE, data never leaves the enterprise customers’ network. This is especially important for highly regulated industries, such as healthcare or finance. 
  • Security: SIM-level device security ensures that devices have a unique identifier and are properly authenticated. This gives network administrators tight control over what devices are allowed on the network.
  • Flexibility: Private LTE networks can be customized to meet an organization’s unique application needs.
  • Capacity: Private LTE networks can use either dedicated or shared spectrum. This puts the enterprise customer in control of bandwidth and infrastructure density, based on their individual needs.
  • Quality of service (QoS): Cellular technology provides a better quality of service than Wi-Fi and gives the customer control of how data traffic is prioritized, end to end.
  • Latency: Deterministic latency, that is, the ability to set a fixed length of time for the transfer of data, is available with private LTE, thanks again to full end-to-end control. Deterministic latency can be very important in factory settings where devices need to be tightly synchronized.
  • Resiliency: With private LTE, enterprise customers can deploy additional small cells for increased resiliency and uptime. They can also allow fallback to public LTE (if desired) using the same cellular device.
  • Mobility: With private LTE, mobility, that is, the hand-over between the individual small cells, is seamless and comparable to what users experience with public LTE. There’s no connection loss with private LTE as there can be with Wi-Fi.
  • Cost: Enterprise customers enjoy lower data transfer costs with private LTE than with public LTE, an especially important consideration when there are high data volumes. In addition, while the cost of an individual high-powered small cell is higher than an enterprise-grade Wi-Fi access point, fewer small cells are needed to provide coverage over the same area. (The total cost of ownership (TCO) for private LTE is outlined in a white paper available from the CBRS Alliance.)

Use cases: Where should Private LTE be deployed?

Private LTE is an attractive wireless option for any number of geographically defined areas, such as a seaport, mine or college campus, or inside a facility such as a hospital, factory, shopping mall or sports stadium. It can also provide low-cost “last mile” connectivity in rural areas.

Here are just a few promising use cases for private LTE:

  • Mine sites: Mining operations typically cover large, but clearly defined geographical areas, where high-power base stations can be deployed cost-effectively. Private LTE enables reliable, uninterrupted communication with personnel and mining equipment.
  • Seaports: With seaports implementing automation on a growing scale and containerized freight systems increasingly using RF identification, private LTE makes it possible to continuously monitor equipment and track the flow of freight, improving efficiency and security.
  • Hospitals: Private LTE provides secure, high-performance connectivity, enabling medical staff and administrators to share sensitive medical files while keeping data secure.
  • College or corporate campuses: Private LTE can provide secure, low cost coverage and address coverage gaps over distances that are too great for Wi-Fi. 
  • Factories: Expanded use of robotics and automation in manufacturing is driving the need for low-latency connectivity between machines on the factory floor. Private LTE networks can connect robots and IoT devices, and facilitate better process monitoring and predictive maintenance.

Digi is ready to help you deploy Private LTE based on CBRS

We are still in the very early days of private LTE. Industry experts, however, believe it has the potential to dramatically expand the uses of wireless communication and reach previously untapped markets and unserved or underserved populations. No wonder it’s being called the “innovation band.”

1 Paul Pishal, “Soon, Reachable for All,” ISE Magazine, November 1, 2019  
https://www.isemag.com/2019/11/telecom-citizens-broadband-radio-service-cbrs-spectrum/
 

If you're interested in exploring tomorrow's applications for private LTE, contact Digi today