有问题吗?

蜂窝式故障切换

确保永远在线的连接 - 自动的

当人们走进电影院购买电影票时,他们只是想当然地认为交易会顺利进行。它通常是这样的--但并不总是这样。

商业影响

有线网络故障确实发生了,它们可能是任何数量的原因造成的,从施工人员意外切断通信线路,到天气事件,再到网络操作中的人为错误。当这些故障发生时,依靠互联网连接来提高生产力、商业运作和交易的企业会陷入停顿。

在通信中断期间,企业可能会失去关键的在途数据,业务运营可能完全停止。对企业的负面影响会迅速增加,造成业务和生产力的损失。无线网络故障转移确保业务运营可以继续 - 减少风险,提供快速恢复和安心。

 

什么是故障转移?

故障转移是一种机制,在主连接发生故障时自动切换到冗余的备用网络连接。当主的有线连接中断时,故障转移会立即将请求从主连接重定向到备用连接,从而保持连接,直到主连接重新上线。对于任何需要安全、"永远在线 "的连接的企业来说,可靠的故障转移是必要的,例如信用卡处理或自动化监测和控制等应用。

有线或无线故障切换?

故障转移图

一些公司试图用第二条有线线路来支持他们的主要有线连接。不幸的是,除非它们与主要的有线服务同时安装,否则有线故障转移解决方案可能非常昂贵。更糟糕的是,有线备份在可靠性方面没有什么改进,因为备份线路通常与主线路一样,沿着相同的路线到达客户现场,并受到同样的环境风险和恶劣天气、事故或其他事件的潜在损害。

蜂窝式备份的好处

由于认识到有线备份的风险,许多公司正在转向无线蜂窝解决方案的备份连接。当有线系统出现故障时,连接会自动故障切换到蜂窝式LTE连接,确保互联网连接和重要的业务运营不受干扰。

无线故障切换允许企业通信快速、无缝地从中断的连接切换到独立于主要有线线路的永远在线的高速连接。当与带外管理相配时,自动蜂窝式故障切换实际上可以消除业务停顿时间和卡车滚动。

蜂窝式故障转移的优点包括。

  • 可靠性--用于蜂窝式故障转移的LTE网络的可用性目前已达到99.99%。随着5G的到来,可靠性--和速度--将继续推进。
  • 冗余 -蜂窝故障切换使设备能够在不同的多个无线运营商之间切换,以获得更大的冗余,同时控制成本。
  • 安全性 -具有最佳实践配置、自动补丁和更新的状态防火墙提供了高水平的安全性。
  • 管理 -有了蜂窝式连接,就不需要更换现有的基础设施,如路由器、防火墙或SD-WAN设备。用于带外管理的串行端口意味着即使在主连接失败时,你也可以远程配置其他设备并排除故障。

此外,许多公司发现,蜂窝网络不仅作为一种故障转移的选择,而且作为一种具有成本效益的主要连接也很有吸引力,特别是在偏远地区。他们被授权将他们的企业网络和安全标准扩展到几乎任何地方,而无需使用租赁的通信线路。

Digi的蜂窝式故障切换解决方案

Digi拥有超过15年的蜂窝通信解决方案的建设经验,早就认识到蜂窝通信对于要求永远在线、永远连接的客户的特殊优势,而且Digi提供了许多连接解决方案来满足这些需求。下面是几个例子。

Digi EX15 手机扩展器 Digi EX15 LTE蜂窝扩展器可用作网络故障切换解决方案,以确保业务连续性,或作为主要的LTE数据连接。Digi EX15还包括一个串行端口,可用于远程、带外管理。
Digi EX12 手机扩展器 Digi EX12蜂窝扩展器是为需要可靠性和冗余性的企业应用而设计的,具有Cat 4速度、双SIM卡和专利的Digi SureLink®,可实现永远在线的连接。
Digi WR54 蜂窝式路由器 Digi WR54路由器为应急人员提供FirstNet Ready™选项,为城市交通系统、救护车、警察和消防等移动应用提供高可用性的连接,并具有双SIM卡故障切换功能。
Digi IX20 蜂窝式路由器 Digi IX20蜂窝式路由器是一个紧凑而经济的蜂窝式路由平台,适用于工业环境,支持双SIM卡和Digi SureLink®的冗余连接。
Digi SureLink 技术 Digi SureLink是Digi蜂窝故障转移平台的一个关键组成部分。它提供双SIM卡功能,以提供另一层故障转移冗余,因此,如果路由器中的一个SIM卡不能与主无线网络通信,第二个SIM卡将自动切换到第二运营商,以建立和保持与备份无线网络的连接。它通过以可配置的时间间隔向Digi路由器发送和接收keep-alive数据包来检测网络故障,从而提供始终在线的连接。
Digi Remote Manager®(远程管理器)。 物联网软件 Digi Remote Manager 是设备安全和管理平台,使网络管理员能够通过实时警报、报告和统计数据来监控他们的连接状态。Digi Remote Manager 符合PCI标准,并通过统一的界面为Digi设备提供可靠的带外管理访问。


摘要

有线和无线网络系统需要协同工作以提供不间断的网络连接。虽然有线系统仍然支持大部分的网络流量,但安全、可靠的故障切换解决方案对于确保业务运营能够始终保持正常运行、富有成效和有利可图至关重要。

Cellular Failover

Ensuring Always-on Connectivity — Automatically

When people walk into a movie theater to purchase a ticket, they simply take for granted that the transaction will go through. And it usually does — but not always.

Business Impact

Wired network failures do happen, and they can be the result of any number of causes, from a construction crew accidentally cutting a communications line, to weather events, to human error in network operations. When these failures do occur, enterprises that rely on their Internet connections for productivity, business operations and transactions can grind to a halt.

During communication outages, businesses can lose critical in-transit data, and business operations can be completely arrested. Negative impact on a business can add up quickly in lost business and productivity. Wireless network failover ensures business operations can continue — reducing risk and providing quick recovery and peace of mind.

 

What Is Failover?

Failover is a mechanism for automatically switching to a redundant standby network connection in the event the primary connection fails. When the primary wired connection is disrupted, failover instantly redirects requests from the primary to the secondary connection, which maintains connectivity until the primary connection is back online. Dependable failover is a necessity for any business requiring a secure, “always on” connection, for applications such as for credit card processing or automation monitoring and control.

Wired or Wireless Failover?

Failover Diagram

Some companies try to back up their primary wired connection with a second wired line. Unfortunately, unless they’re installed at the same time as the primary wired service, wired failover solutions can be very expensive. Worse, wired backup provides little improvement in reliability, since backup wiring most often follows the same route to customer sites as primary wiring, and is subject to the same environmental risks and potential damage from severe weather, accidents or other events.

Benefits of Cellular Backup

In recognition of the risks of wired backup, many companies are turning to wireless cellular solutions for backup connectivity. When the wired system fails, the connections automatically failover to a cellular LTE connection, ensuring that Internet connectivity and vital business operations remain uninterrupted.

Wireless failover allows business communications to quickly and seamlessly switch from a disrupted connection to an always-on high-speed connection that is independent of the primary wired line. When paired with out-of-band management, automated cellular failover can virtually eliminate business downtime and truck rolls.

The advantages of cellular failover include:

  • Reliability – The availability of LTE networks used for cellular failover is now reaching 99.99%. With the advent of 5G, reliability — and speed — will continue to advance.
  • Redundancy – Cellular failover enables devices to switch between different multiple wireless carriers for greater redundancy, while controlling costs.
  • Security – A stateful firewall with best-practice configurations, automated patches and updates provides a high level of security.
  • Management – With a cellular connection, there’s no need to replace existing infrastructure, like routers, firewalls or SD-WAN appliances. A serial port for out-of-band management means you can configure and troubleshoot other devices remotely even when the primary connection fails.

In addition, many companies are discovering that cellular is attractive not only as a failover option, but as a cost-effective primary connection as well, especially in remote locations. They are empowered to extend their corporate network and security standards virtually anywhere without the use of leased communication lines.

Cellular Failover Solutions from Digi

With more than 15 years building cellular solutions, Digi has long recognized the exceptional advantages of cellular communications for customers demanding always-up, always-on connectivity, and Digi offers numerous connectivity solutions to meet those needs. Here are a few examples:

Digi EX15 Cellular extender The Digi EX15 LTE cellular extender can be used as a network failover solution to ensure business continuity, or as a primary LTE data connection. The Digi EX15 also includes a serial port that can be used for remote, out-of-band management.
Digi EX12 Cellular Extender The Digi EX12 cellular extender is designed for enterprise applications requiring reliability and redundancy, with Cat 4 speeds, dual SIMs and patented Digi SureLink® for always-on connectivity.
Digi TX54 Cellular router The Digi TX54 router, with a FirstNet Ready™ option for emergency responders, provides highly available connectivity for mobile applications such as city transportation systems, ambulance, police and fire with dual-SIM failover.
Digi IX20 Cellular router The Digi IX20 cellular router is a compact and economical cellular routing platform for industrial environments that supports redundant connectivity with dual SIMs and Digi SureLink®.
Digi SureLink Technology Digi SureLink is a key component of the Digi cellular failover platform. It offers dual-SIM capability to provide another layer of failover redundancy, so that if one SIM card in the router cannot communicate with the primary wireless network, the second SIM will automatically switch to a secondary carrier to establish and maintain a connection with the backup wireless network. It provides always-up, always-on connectivity by sending and receiving keep-alive data packets at configurable intervals to and from Digi routers to detect network failures.
Digi Remote Manager® IoT software Digi Remote Manager is device security and management platform that enables network administrators to monitor their connection status with real-time alerts, reports and statistics. Digi Remote Manager is PCI-compliant, and provides reliable out-of-band management access to Digi devices through a unified interface.


Summary

Wired and wireless network systems need to work in tandem to provide uninterrupted network connectivity. While wired systems still support the bulk of network traffic, secure, reliable failover solutions are essential to making sure that business operations can always remain up and running, productive and profitable.

Related Content

Cellular Routers, Extenders and Gateways: What Is the Difference? Cellular Routers, Extenders and Gateways: What Is the Difference? Cellular routers, extenders and gateways have similarities and differences in an IoT deployment, from managing communications... READ BLOG Persistent Network Connections - Digi SureLink Persistent Network Connections - Digi SureLink Network downtime can be costly. But link integrity monitoring and the Digi SureLink “keep-alive” function keep data connections always up, and always on. LEARN MORE Digi TX54 LTE-Advanced Cellular Router Digi TX54 LTE-Advanced Cellular Router Rugged and secure cellular router for mission critical industrial and transportation applications, including models for public safety networks VIEW PRODUCT Digi EX12 Digi EX12 Avoid network outages with primary or backup LTE connectivity; integrate seamlessly with existing infrastructure VIEW PRODUCT How to Stay Ahead of the 3G Network Sunset How to Stay Ahead of the 3G Network Sunset To prepare for the 3G sunset, it's important to understand where the industry is going in order to plan your migration. Both 4G... READ BLOG Digi retail costs of business downtime infographic Digi retail costs of business downtime infographic DOWNLOAD PDF Digi EX15 Digi EX15 Branch connectivity in a compact, affordable, all-in-one solution VIEW PRODUCT Digi Primary or Failover Connectivity Solutions  Digi Primary or Failover Connectivity Solutions Digi primary or failover connectivity solutions are ideal for retailers, convenience and department stores, restaurants... WATCH VIDEO The Top 5 Considerations for Migrating to 4G, 5G and Beyond The Top 5 Considerations for Migrating to 4G, 5G and Beyond Preparing for 2G and 3G sunsets VIEW PDF Digi Network Failover Solutions Digi Network Failover Solutions Decrease risk, increase productivity. The case for cellular failover connectivity. VIEW PDF Digi Remote Manager Digi Remote Manager Configure, Deploy and Manage Remote Assets Securely VIEW PRODUCT