Norled将高速远程蜂窝网络连接整合到轮渡和快船船队中

诺德
"我们与Digi建立了长期的合作关系,最近迁移到支持LTE-Cat 11的Digi EX-15,以获得更高的带宽和更大的可靠性。"

Bjørn Tore Garderhagen,IT运营经理

Norled AS是挪威最大的轮渡和快船运营商之一,拥有80艘船只提供从奥斯陆峡湾到特罗姆斯郡的服务。Norled在新船和生态友好技术方面进行了大量投资。该公司有超过1000名员工,年营业额达20亿挪威克朗。

提供高速互联网连接--在开放的海洋上

由于有几十艘船穿越北欧水域,这个客运轮渡组织希望接入蜂窝网络,以提供船上的高速互联网接入,支持流媒体、电话会议、遥测数据等。据Norled公司的IT运营经理Bjørn Tore Garderhagen说,自然的选择是使用 Digi EX15 LTE 高速蜂窝网络解决方案与 Digi Remote Manager®(远程管理器)。 它提供安全的、基于网络的设备管理,以实现对所部署网络的可见性和控制。
Norled船只

一套可升级的 Digi CORE® LTE插件调制解调器 Norled可以选择最适合其业务要求的蜂窝速度,包括LTE Cat 4和LTE-Advanced Cat 6,以及用于数据密集型应用的LTE-Advanced Cat 11和用于关键通信的LTE-Advanced Pro Cat 18。 
 

在恶劣的户外环境中部署Digi远程蜂窝网络连接

当然,对于蜂窝式调制解调器来说,海上航行的船只是一个困难的工作环境。因此,Garderhagen需要找到一种有效和可靠的方法,将Digi EX15安置在一个合适的IP67等级的户外外壳中。
船上安装的Digi蜂窝式路由器

"我们正在使用GTT完全配置的机柜,为我们船队的户外应用提供高质量的网关,"Garderhagen说。"我们还与Digi建立了长期的合作关系,最近迁移到支持LTE-Cat 11的Digi EX-15,以获得更高的带宽和更大的可靠性。我们选择这个Digi解决方案的原因是它的价格、速度和范围超过了Digi的一个工业解决方案,并需要确保它能在户外恶劣的环境中最佳地运行。有了Digi EX-15和GTT外壳,我们就能以 "同类最佳 "的解决方案应对这两项挑战"。

Norled使用两种不同的部署方案。GTT GLB机柜容纳一个Digi EX-15。GTT Formosa机箱包含两个相同的Digi EX-15产品,以增加正常运行时间和可用性。

GTT的IP67户外外壳具有防水的IP67接口,并提供非常灵活的实际安装位置选择。"这减少了我们系统中的射频损失,"Garderhagen说。"我们可以把路由器放在桥顶上,而不是放在从桥顶的天线到路由器再到仪器室的很长的天线电缆的末端。我们不仅能够快速、轻松地将路由器集成到GTT机箱内,而且还能使用标准的IP67 GTT天线来替代昂贵的传统产品。"

据Garderhagen说,由于采用了Digi EX-15和GTT保护罩的综合解决方案,渡轮公司的停工时间减少,生产率提高。"更重要的是,它使我们能够为所有船舶规划和推出长期可靠的解决方案,并在船舶外部安装了一个看起来很专业的防水(IP67)解决方案。"
 

与Digi联系

正在寻求下一代的解决方案和支持?这里有一些下一步措施。
获取我们的IoT 部署解决方案简介
了解如何快速和低成本地完成您的IoT 实施工作

相关内容

Digi Go-To 5G解决方案 Digi Go-To 5G解决方案 未来就在这里,Digi的5G解决方案已经准备好带你到那里去!无论你是负责提供高价值的产品,还是负责提供高价值的服务。 观看视频 5G能为企业带来什么。企业、工业和交通 5G能为企业带来什么。企业、工业和交通 制造设施、运输系统和其他垂直行业已经准备好利用更快的速度... 阅读博客 交通资源库 交通资源库 浏览我们的思想领导力和技术内容库,了解所有关于过境的事情。 参观图书馆 如何为你的交通系统准备好迎接5G的未来 如何为你的交通系统准备好迎接5G的未来 随着5G网络的全面铺开,运输业正处于巨大变革的风口浪尖。5G将是一个真正的游戏。 网络研讨会录音 远程IoT 设备管理的投资回报率 远程IoT 设备管理的投资回报率 随着物联网的采用继续加速和扩大,管理和维护物联网的成本也在增加。 阅读博客 AGH太阳能船 Digi XBee 模块是AGH太阳能和自主船的核心。 波兰克拉科夫的AGH科技大学正在开发的AGH太阳能船项目,包含了... 阅读故事 泰加汽车 新一代动力运动。泰加汽车公司利用Digi解决方案创造了第一辆电动雪地车和个人水车 泰加汽车公司是一家创新的电动运动公司,总部设在加拿大,其使命是生产能够提供... 阅读故事 IoT 在交通方面。解决方案和应用 IoT 在交通方面。解决方案和应用 随着市政当局和交通当局在交通方面采用IoT ,交通正经历着一场变革。 阅读博客 Digi EX15 Digi EX15 在一个紧凑、经济、一体化的解决方案中的分支连接 查看产品 Digi Remote Manager Digi Remote Manager 安全地配置、部署和管理远程资产 查看产品

Norled Integrates High-Speed Remote Cellular Connectivity in Fleet of Ferries and Express Boats

Norled
"We have a long and established relationship with Digi and have recently migrated to the Digi EX-15 that supports LTE-Cat 11 for higher bandwidth and greater reliability."

Bjørn Tore Garderhagen, IT Operation Manager

Norled AS is one of Norway’s largest ferry and express boat operators, with 80 vessels offering services from the Oslofjord to Troms county. Norled has invested significantly in new vessels and eco-friendly technology. The company has more than 1,000 employees and an annual turnover of NOK 2 billion.

Providing High-Speed Internet Connectivity – on the Open Seas

With dozens of vessels traversing Nordic waters, this passenger ferry organization wanted to access cellular networks to provide shipboard high-speed Internet access to support streaming, conference calling, telemetry data and more. According to Bjørn Tore Garderhagen, IT operation manager for Norled, the natural choice was to use the Digi EX15 LTE high-speed cellular solution integrated with Digi Remote Manager® which provides secure, web-based device management for network visibility and control over the deployed network.
Norled vessel

A suite of upgradeable Digi CORE® LTE plug-in modems lets Norled select the cellular speeds that best fit its business requirements, including LTE Cat 4 and LTE-Advanced Cat 6, as well as LTE-Advanced Cat 11 for data-intensive applications, and LTE-Advanced Pro Cat 18 for critical communications. 
 

Deploying Digi Remote Cellular Connectivity in Harsh Outdoor Settings

Of course, a seafaring vessel presents a difficult operating environment for a cellular modem. So Garderhagen needed to find an effective and reliable method of housing the Digi EX15 inside a suitable IP67-rated outdoor enclosure.
Digi cellular router installed on boat

“We are using GTT fully configured enclosures to provide high-quality gateways for outdoor applications on our fleet of vessels,” Garderhagen said. “We also have a long and established relationship with Digi and have recently migrated to the Digi EX-15 that supports LTE-Cat 11 for higher bandwidth and greater reliability. We chose this Digi solution for its price, speed and range over one of Digi’s industrial solutions, and needed to ensure it could operate optimally outdoors in harsh environments. With the Digi EX-15 and the GTT enclosure we were able to meet both challenges in a “best in class” solution.”

Norled uses two different deployment options. The GTT GLB enclosure houses a single Digi EX-15. The GTT Formosa enclosure contains two identical Digi EX-15 products for additional uptime and availability.

GTT’s IP67 outdoor enclosure features watertight IP67 interfaces and provides very flexible practical mounting location options. “That reduces RF losses in our system,” Garderhagen said. “We can locate our router on the roof of the bridge instead of at the end of a very long antenna cable run from an antenna on the roof to the router down to the instrumentation room. We were not only able to integrate the router inside the GTT enclosures quickly and easily, but also use the standard IP67 GTT Antenna as an alternative to costly legacy products.”

According to Garderhagen, the ferry line has experienced decreased downtime and higher productivity because the combined solution of Digi EX-15 and the GTT protective enclosures. “More importantly, it has allowed us to plan and rollout a long-term reliable solution for all vessels and have a professional-looking watertight (IP67) solution mounted on the exterior of the ship.”
 

Connect with Digi

Seeking next-generation solutions and support? Here are some next steps:
Get Our IoT Deployment Solution Brief
Learn how to complete your IoT implementation quickly and cost-effectively

Related Content

Digi Go-To 5G Solutions Digi Go-To 5G Solutions The future is here, and Digi go-to 5G solutions are ready to take you there! Whether you are charged with delivering high... WATCH VIDEO What Can 5G Do For Business: Enterprise, Industry and Transportation What Can 5G Do For Business: Enterprise, Industry and Transportation Manufacturing facilities, transportation systems and other vertical industries are ready to take advantage of the faster speeds... READ BLOG Transit Resource Library Transit Resource Library Peruse our library of thought leadership and technical content on all things Transit. VISIT LIBRARY How to Prepare Your Transit System for the 5G Future How to Prepare Your Transit System for the 5G Future The transportation industry is on the cusp of enormous change, with the full rollout of 5G networks. 5G will be a true game... RECORDED WEBINAR The ROI of Remote IoT Device Management The ROI of Remote IoT Device Management As adoption of the Internet of Things continues to accelerate and broaden, the costs of managing and maintaining networks of... READ BLOG AGH Solar Boat Digi XBee Modules at the Heart of the AGH Solar and Autonomous Boats The AGH Solar Boat project, under development at the AGH University of Science and Technology in Krakow, Poland, incorporates... READ STORY Taiga Motors Next Gen Powersports: Taiga Motors Creates the First Electric Snowmobile and Personal Watercraft Using Digi Solutions Taiga Motors is an innovative electric power sports company, based in Canada, whose mission is to produce vehicles that provide... READ STORY IoT in Transportation: Solutions and Applications IoT in Transportation: Solutions and Applications Transportation is undergoing a transformation as municipalities and transport authorities adopt IoT in transportation... READ BLOG Digi EX15 Digi EX15 Branch connectivity in a compact, affordable, all-in-one solution VIEW PRODUCT Digi Remote Manager Digi Remote Manager Configure, Deploy and Manage Remote Assets Securely VIEW PRODUCT