This document describes how to login into devices that have been reset to factory defaults.
With some exceptions described below, a TransPort or Accelerated device that has been reset to factory defaults (by pressing the reset or erase button) will require the following credentials:
- Username: admin
- Password: The unique password on the device's label.
Transport (SAROS) Devices
- TransPort devices without a unique default password on the label but with firmware 22.214.171.124 (or greater), will default to:
- username: admin / Password: default
Upgrading routers manufactured prior to 126.96.36.199:
- TransPort devices without a unique default password on the label and with firmware previous to 188.8.131.52 will default to:
- Username: username / Password: password
Downgrading routers manufactured with 184.108.40.206 (or later)
- If you upgrade the firmware to 220.127.116.11 (or greater) using the Web UI, the router retains the existing default user accounts.
- If you upgrade the firmware to 18.104.22.168 (or greater) using Flashwriter, the default account will be admin and the password will be default.
- If your router is running 22.214.171.124 (or greater) and has the admin account with a pre-programmed unique password, and you use the Web UI to downgrade to a release prior to 126.96.36.199, the downgraded router will no longer recognize the pre-programmed unique admin account password. Instead, the admin account password will be default.
- If your router is running 188.8.131.52 (or greater) and has the admin account with a pre-programmed unique password, and you use Flashwriter to downgrade to a release prior to 184.108.40.206, the admin account will no longer be present. Instead, the default account will be username/password.
- After downgrading with Flashwriter, if you then upgrade back to 220.127.116.11 or greater using the Web UI, the router will retain the username/password account and not include an admin account.
- If you then factory default the router, the admin account with the pre-programmed unique password will return.
- After downgrading with Flashwriter and losing the admin account, if you then upgrade to 18.104.22.168 or greater using Flashwriter, the admin account with the pre-programmed unique password will again be present and the username/password account will be removed.
Accelerated (DAL) Devices
Resetting DAL devices to factory defaults without a unique password on their label will default to:
- Username: admin / Password: default (with firmware 22.214.171.124 or newer)
- Username: root / Password: default (with firmware previous to 126.96.36.199)
Once a device is upgraded to 188.8.131.52 or newer firmware:
- If you do have an admin user configured, it will not be touched by the update
- If you do not have an admin user configured, a new user admin will appear. It will have the same credentials/settings as the root user
- If you had a root user configured (e.g. not factory defaults) it will be preserved to maintain existing user access.
- Restoring the device to factory defaults after update will result in only the admin user.
- If you have a root user and do a factory default, you have to login with the admin user, instead of root, using the unique password printed on the device’s label.
Please note that if the device is managed by aView and is able to connect to the internet, shortly after resetting a device to factory defaults, the login will revert to the ones aView has configured. To prevent this from happening you will need to stop the unit from connecting to aView by using the following procedure before pressing the reset button:
- Power off the device.
- Remove the SIMs.
- Disconnect any cable attached to the WAN interface (if the device has one).
- Power the device back on.
- Wait a few minutes for the device to fully boot.
- Factory reset the unit by pressing the Erase button.
- From a computer terminal attached to the LAN interface, use the appropriate username and password combination from the options above.
Sep 21, 2020