有问题吗?

BinSentry农业监测系统依靠Digi® XBee蜂窝电话进行低功耗、低成本的通信

箱体哨兵
"当我们扩展到拥有不同蜂窝网络的不同地区时,我们可以非常迅速地适应。例如,Digi让我们在NB-IoT和LTE之间进行转换。这对我们来说是巨大的。"

Randall Schwartzentruber,BinSentry的联合创始人兼首席执行官

BinSentry提供专有的解决方案来监测饲料库存,确保畜牧业者有可靠的、不间断的饲料供应给他们的动物。这家农业物联网初创企业已经开发出一种互联解决方案,解决了养殖户和饲料厂监测农场饲料库存的需求,及时补充供应,并安排有效的卡车运输路线,以消除供应中断并降低成本。

商业挑战

在全国各地的牲畜养殖场,农民必须不断为他们的牲畜提供最佳的饲料组合,这意味着建立一个稳定的库存和一个平稳的供应链至关重要。 饲料厂--每天向数百个农场供应数吨饲料--必须依靠农民手动检查粮仓并报告何时需要补充。但这并不是每个农场的每个粮仓都能做到的。即使是由短缺引起的轻微中断,哪怕是延迟几个小时的喂养,也会导致重大的牲畜损失。

因此,未曾预料到的缺货使饲料厂争先恐后地以紧急订单、修改生产计划和低效的卡车路线来应对。据BinSentry公司联合创始人兼首席执行官Randall Schwartzentruber称,该行业不能继续以被动的方式运作。"他说:"饲料厂总是在等待农民检查饲料仓并提交库存状况,以便他们能够制定生产和运输计划。"但是延迟或不准确的数据会对这些计划造成破坏。我们与不同的饲料厂经营者交谈,问他们:'假设你有一个传感器,告诉你一个仓里只剩下25%的库存。我们了解到,这是一个普遍存在的问题,没有人解决,但这将是非常理想的部署。在我们的研究中,我们找不到一个解决方案的提供者,所以我们确定,一个低成本、与互联网连接的节能传感器网络可以用自动化和准确性来改变一项平凡的任务。

解决方案

经过广泛的原型设计、现场测试以及来自饲料厂、销售人员和运输专家的反馈,BinSentry开发了其旗舰商业解决方案,实时监控饲料仓,为供应商提供有关库存状态、消耗率等准确和可操作的数据。"我们了解到,你不能使用超声波传感器,因为灰尘、湿度和油会干扰读数。而且,这也不是使用现成的激光传感器那么简单。我们选择了一种使用激光雷达的传感器--与自动驾驶汽车中使用的技术相同。它射出一束光,我们计算出留在垃圾箱中的饲料的深度。

在仓外,BinSentry使用一块电路板和通信模块来进行本地计算并传输数据。连接由Digi XBee® 3 LTE 蜂窝调制解调器处理。Digi XBee 3模块通过快速实现对精密农业中一系列产品和应用的无线连接,加快了产品上市时间。Digi XBee 3模块可以根据需要在多个频率和无线协议之间切换,并且可以从一个简单的中央平台轻松配置和控制。Digi XBee 模块具有尺寸、重量、功率和性能优势,是可扩展设备连接的理想选择。

通过使用Digi XBee 3,BinSentry提供了世界上第一个由电池操作、太阳能供电的饲槽监视器。它可以在15分钟内安装完毕,不需要对喂料器进行修改,也不需要单独的电源或互联网连接。

"我们喜欢Digi XBee 模块,因为它们的用途非常广泛,"Schwartzentruber说。"Digi的模块不需要焊接,因为焊接的成本很高,更换起来也很费时,而Digi的模块是插接式的,占地面积相同。当我们扩展到有不同蜂窝网络的不同地区时,我们可以非常迅速地适应。例如,Digi让我们在NB-IoT和LTE之间进行转换。这对我们来说是非常重要的"。

结果

有了BinSentry,饲料厂可以看到任何料仓的确切库存水平,以及消费趋势、清空天数和其他指标。传感器每四小时 "唤醒 "一次以发送数据--这是一个持续一分钟的小规模、低功率事件。

"由于大多数饲料厂以前是每周获得一次饲料数据,这代表了一个重大改进,"Schwartzentruber说。"我们可以每天从设备上发送六次数据和诊断,即使太阳能电池完全失效,也有90天的备用电池电量。"

从成本角度看,BinSentry提供了一个引人注目的价值主张。"Schwartzentruber解释说:"我们可以帮助饲料厂节省运输、原材料和劳动力,同时提高客户满意度。"我们已经发现,我们的实施每年可实现2-3倍的投资回报。 而且客户不需要支付手机数据使用费。这已经包含在我们的价格中。由于饲料厂要为数以万计的粮仓提供服务,而设备的预期寿命为五年,我们提供的回报非常有吸引力。"

观看范围测试视频
看看用Digi XCTU测试无线范围有多容易

Have a Question?

BinSentry Agriculture Monitoring Systems Rely on Digi® XBee Cellular for Low-Power, Low-Cost Communication

Bin Sentry
"When we expand to different areas that have different cellular networks, we can adapt very quickly. Digi lets us swap between NB-IoT and LTE, for instance. That’s huge for us."

Randall Schwartzentruber, Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer of BinSentry

BinSentry provides proprietary solutions to monitor feedstock inventory, ensuring livestock farmers have a reliable, uninterruptible supply of feed for their animals. The agriculture IoT startup has developed a connected solution that addresses the need for farmers and feed mills to monitor feed inventories on farms, replenish supplies in a timely manner, and schedule efficient trucking routes to eliminate supply disruptions and reduce costs.

Business Challenge

On livestock farms across the country, farmers must constantly provide their stock with the optimal mix of feed, which means it is critical to create a steady inventory and a smooth supply chain.  Feed mills – supplying tons of feedstocks each day to hundreds of farms – must rely on farmers to manually check grain bins and report when they need to be replenished. But that doesn’t happen for every bin on every farm. And even slight disruptions caused by shortages that delay feeding by even a few hours can result in significant livestock losses.

As a result, unanticipated stockouts leave feed mills scrambling to respond with rush orders, revamped production schedules and inefficient truck routing. According to Randall Schwartzentruber, Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer of BinSentry, the industry can’t afford to continue to operate in a reactive mode. “The feed mills are always waiting for farmers to check the feed bins and submit inventory statuses so that they can create production and transportation schedules,” he said. “But delayed or inaccurate data can wreak havoc on those plans. We talked to different feed mill operators and asked them, ‘Suppose you had a sensor to tell you when there is only 25 percent of inventory remaining in a bin. Would that be helpful?’ We learned that this is a universal problem that no one has solved, but that would be very desirable to deploy. In our research, we couldn’t find a solution provider, so we determined that a network of low-cost, Internet-connected, energy-efficient sensors could transform a mundane task with automation and accuracy.

Solution

After extensive prototyping, field testing, and feedback from feed mills, sales people, and transportation experts, BinSentry developed its flagship commercial solution that monitors feed bins in real time to provide suppliers with accurate and actionable data on inventory status, consumption rates, and more. “We learned that you can’t use an ultrasonic sensor because dust, humidity, and oils interfere with readings. And it’s not as simple as using an off-the-shelf laser sensor. We chose a sensor that uses LIDAR – the same technology used in self-driving autonomous vehicles. It shoots a beam of light and we calculate the depth of feed left in the bin.

Outside, the bin, BinSentry uses a circuit board and communication module to perform local calculations and transmit the data. The connectivity is handled by the Digi XBee® 3 LTE cellular modem. Digi XBee 3 modules accelerate time to market by quickly enabling wireless connectivity to a range of products and applications in precision agriculture. Digi XBee 3 modules can switch between multiple frequencies and wireless protocols, as needed, and can be easily configured and controlled from a simple, central platform. Digi XBee modules offer size, weight, power and performance advantages ideal for scalable device connectivity.

Using Digi XBee 3, BinSentry offers the world’s first battery-operated, solar-powered feedbin monitor. It can be installed in 15 minutes, with no modifications to the feedbin and no need for separate power or Internet connectivity.

“We love Digi XBee modules because they’re so versatile,” said Schwartzentruber. “Instead of soldering, which is expensive and time-consuming to change, Digi modules are plug-compatible with the same footprint. When we expand to different areas that have different cellular networks, we can adapt very quickly. Digi lets us swap between NB-IoT and LTE, for instance. That’s huge for us.”

Results

With BinSentry, feedmills can see the exact level of inventory in any bin, as well as consumption trends, days to empty, and other metrics. The sensor “wakes” to send data every four hours – a small, low-power event that lasts one minute.

“Since most feed mills were previously getting feed data once a week, this represents a significant improvement,” Schwartzentruber said. “We can send data and diagnostics from the device six times a day, and even if there’s a total power solar-cell failure, there’s 90 days of backup battery power.”

From a cost perspective, BinSentry offers a compelling value proposition. “We can help feed mills save on transportation, raw materials, and labor while improving customer satisfaction,” Schwartzentruber explained. “We’ve found our implementation delivers a 2-3x payback per year.  And customers don’t pay for cellular data usage. That’s included in our price. With feed mills servicing tens of thousands of bins, and a device with an expected life of five years, we’re offering a very attractive return.”

Watch the range test video
See how easy it is to test wireless range with Digi XCTU