有问题吗?

EOS国际在尼加拉瓜和洪都拉斯各地部署可扩展的水监测解决方案

EOS国际
"这个解决方案正在以他们能够承受的成本提供关键服务。这是一个正在改变生活的转折点。而且,由于这种高效的技术,我们现在准备在可扩展、可持续的基础上实现这一目标。"

EOS国际公司联合创始人兼首席执行官韦斯-梅尔(Wes Meier)。

EOS国际是一家非营利性社会企业,在中美洲开展业务,为农村社区提供安全饮用水,最终为一个更强大、更繁荣的社会奠定基础。EOS已经在尼加拉瓜的一个农村社区部署了一个远程水质监测试点,并计划扩大到数百个地点,使用Digi XBee® 3 Cellular LTE Cat 1连接,以大幅改善水质,同时降低运营成本。

洁净水愿景

韦斯-梅尔(Wes Meier)厌倦了生病。这位驻扎在尼加拉瓜圣何塞的和平队志愿者起初将其归咎于食物,然后逐渐发现问题的真正根源。"他说:"有人告诉我,我们有干净的水,我就在这种假设下生活。"但在几次消化不良之后,我决定顺着当地的水管找到它的来源。水管工向我展示了他如何每月向水箱中投放一袋漂白剂--基本上是一种休克疗法。EOS3.jpg 因此,在大多数日子里,水要么被过度氯化,要么被污染。这种自来水根本无法安全饮用。"

水是世界上大部分人口认为理所当然的资源;但对于中美洲40%以上的社区来说,无法可靠地获得安全的饮用水--没有致病的细菌污染物--是无法实现的。梅尔决心改变这种状况。

"我们调查了邻近社区的水质,发现85%以上的社区饮用了被大肠杆菌和其他细菌污染的水。大多数人生活在贫困的农村地区,获得基本服务的机会有限,很少有企业和非政府组织经常去那里。而缺乏清洁的饮用水也阻碍了他们创收和脱贫。事实上,尼加拉瓜和洪都拉斯是西半球最贫穷的国家之一,50%的农村人口生活在国家贫困线以下。在我参加和平队的日子里,我创立了EOS国际组织来解决这些问题。

EOS在尼加拉瓜有12名员工,在洪都拉斯有8名员工,开发和实施技术解决方案,跟踪、评估和重新审视社区设施,以确保长期的积极影响。与当地社区、非营利组织、大学和政府组织建立强有力的伙伴关系,在其建设更强大、更健康的水供应的使命中发挥了关键作用。"我们解释说,清澈的水不一定是安全的,我们为这些社区提供专业知识,排除故障,并利用我们的实验室和现场测试进行监测,"他说,"但随着我们的成长,我们遇到了可扩展性的挑战。"

自动、远程监控

大多数水质问题都可以通过简单的氯处理成功而快速地解决,使用类似于保持游泳池清洁和清澈的药片。然而,与其每月进行一次冲击处理,更好的答案是设置和维持较小的持续的氯气剂量,以考虑到天气和消耗率等变量。

以前,水监测需要EOS的水务技术人员上门进行人工测试。这些技术人员穿越崎岖的地形,走访了数百个偏远社区,其中一些只能通过骑马才能到达,只是为了测试水质和开出下一次的氯气剂量。虽然有帮助,但这些测试未能考虑到水质的日常变化。一个社区可能几天、几周、甚至一整个月都没有EOS的技术人员来提供关于其当前水质的新数据,从而留下潜在的危险漏洞。

当Meier咨询爱荷华大学的教授Craig Just博士和博士生Megan Lindmark时,这是一次理想的合作。"我是一个大水手,"Just解释说。"我研究水的化学和微生物学,我们都知道水的消毒在发展中国家有多重要。我们认为,如果我们能够使用传感器实时检测和报告水质,EOS的技术人员可以更有效地运作。我们可以防止不必要的访问,节省时间和金钱,并提高水的质量"。

易于安装和设置

Just和Lindmark设计了一个监测这些远程地点的解决方案。在每个地点配备少量的传感器,几乎可以连续测量pH值、氧化还原电位、氯气、流速和水箱水位。这些读数每两分钟被记录一次。每小时四次,这些读数被传输到爱荷华大学,Just和Lindmark在那里对水质和化学进行分析和可视化。如果需要调整,他们会向工作人员发送一条短信。

EOS解决方案的关键之一是Digi XBee 3蜂窝式调制解调器,它提供了从遥远的远程地点发送数据的连接。预认证的Digi XBee 3调制解调器建立在行业领先的技术上,使工程师能够快速、轻松地将无线连接添加到广泛的应用中,并根据需要灵活地在多个频率和无线协议之间切换。它们是中等带宽(通常<25 MB/月)和低成本物联网应用的理想选择。通过Digi Remote Manager®,Digi XBee 3模块可以从一个中央平台轻松配置和控制。内置的Digi TrustFence®安全、身份和数据隐私功能使用多层控制,以防止新的和不断发展的网络威胁。

Lindmark开始用Digi开发板进行原型设计,很快就有了一个概念证明。"她说:"开箱即用,即插即用。"使用附件和工具很容易,传输位置信息也很容易。我不是电气工程师,但我很快就能理解如何使用一切。"

改变水安全的性质

现在,由于互联网连接的传感器由太阳能电池板和12V汽车电池供电,EOS正在改变水安全的本质,使这些偏远和低收入的城市能够实现所需的水安全,帮助改善社区的健康。EOS的工作人员可以避免到在承受范围内的地点的浪费,而社区则享受到持续的清洁水。

"梅尔说:"这个解决方案正在以他们能够承受的成本提供一项关键服务。"这是一个正在改变生活的转折点。而且,由于这种高效的技术,我们现在准备在一个可扩展、可持续的基础上实现这一目标。"

从这里开始,EOS的目标是确保从政府机构和非政府组织获得资金,以支持更多的实施,并向商业经销商授权该解决方案。

相关内容

布朗和考德威尔 布朗与考德威尔公司利用Digi解决方案帮助各机构监测重要的水质和基础设施性能 水务机构想要实现合规和降低成本的一个解决方案?实施复杂的传感器和实时... 阅读故事 为原始设备制造商提供的开发解决方案 为原始设备制造商提供的开发解决方案 在你可以选择的所有物联网供应商中,为什么选择Digi?答案最好用一个词来概括:经验。 查看PDF XBee vs. Zigbee:一个简单的比较指南 XBee vs. Zigbee:一个简单的比较指南 在这篇文章中,我们对XBee和Zigbee进行了简单而清晰的比较,包括如何和何时使用它们,以及... 阅读博客 安全、可扩展的物联网设备管理 安全、可扩展的物联网设备管理 物联网使企业、工业和公共部门组织能够控制设备和提供服务的方式,... 阅读博客 物联网架构。拓扑结构和边缘计算的考虑 物联网架构。拓扑结构和边缘计算的考虑 物联网(IoT)项目可能很复杂,因为有很多决定要做。对于任何物联网项目,你需要获得... 阅读博客 赢咖娱乐 Digi WDS帮助Evoqua公司为商业应用提供互联网连接的水监测解决方案 为了降低成本,提高效率和更好地服务于他们的客户,Evoqua水技术公司转向了物联网,以... 阅读故事 管理物联网连接与Digi Remote Manager 管理物联网连接与Digi Remote Manager 物联网管理。Digi Remote Manager 如何支持安全和可扩展的部署、云整合和边缘计算,同时降低物联网的复杂性 查看PDF Digi帮助峰会改善地下水保护和管理 Summit Envirosolutions是一家环境咨询公司,使用复杂的信息系统来收集和评估... 阅读故事 Digi XBee 3 蜂窝式LTE Cat 1 Digi XBee 3 蜂窝式LTE Cat 1 Digi XBee 3智能调制解调器提供了最简单的方式,将蜂窝连接集成到OEM设备或物联网网关中。 查看产品 水的未来是无线的 水的未来是无线的 提供物联网连接解决方案,失败是不可能的 查看PDF Digi Remote Manager Digi Remote Manager 安全地配置、部署和管理远程资产 查看产品

Have a Question?

EOS International Deploys Scalable Water-Monitoring Solution Across Nicaragua and Honduras

EOS International
"This solution is providing a critical service at a cost that they can sustain. This is a tipping point that is changing lives. And, thanks to this efficient technology, we’re now poised to achieve this on a scalable, sustainable basis."

Wes Meier, Co-Founder and CEO, EOS International

EOS International, a nonprofit social enterprise, operates in Central America to provide rural communities with access to safe drinking water, ultimately laying the foundation for a stronger, more prosperous society. EOS has deployed a remote water quality monitoring pilot in a rural Nicaraguan community, with plans to scale up to hundreds of locations, using Digi XBee® 3 Cellular LTE Cat 1 connectivity to dramatically improve water quality while driving down operational costs.

The Clean Water Vision

Wes Meier was sick of being sick. The Peace Corps volunteer stationed in San Jose, Nicaragua, initially chalked it up to the food, before gradually uncovering the true root of the problem. “I was told we had clean water, and I lived under that assumption,” he said. “But after a few bad bouts of digestive issues, I decided to follow the local water pipe to its source. The plumber showed me how he put one bag of bleach into the tank each month — essentially a shock treatment.EOS3.jpg So most days, water was either over-chlorinated or contaminated. That piped water simply wasn’t safe to drink.”

Water is a resource that much of the world population takes for granted; but for more than 40 percent of communities in Central America, reliable access to safe drinking water — free from disease-causing bacterial contaminants — is unobtainable. Meier was determined to change that.

“We looked at water quality in neighboring communities and found that more than 85 percent of them consumed water contaminated with E. coli and other bacteria. Most of the population lives in impoverished rural areas, where access to basic services is limited and where few businesses and NGOs travel regularly. And a lack of clean drinking water also holds them back from generating income and rising out of poverty. In fact, Nicaragua and Honduras are some of the poorest countries in the Western Hemisphere, with 50 percent of the rural population living below the national poverty line. Following my Peace Corps days, I founded EOS International to tackle these problems.”

With an on-the-ground staff of 12 in Nicaragua and eight in Honduras, EOS develops and implements technology solutions to track, evaluate, and revisit community installations to ensure a long-term, positive impact. Strong partnerships with local communities, nonprofits, universities, and governmental organizations have played a key role in its mission of building stronger, healthier water supplies. “We explain that clear water isn’t necessarily safe, and we provide these communities with expertise, troubleshooting, and monitoring using our labs and field tests,” he said, “But as we grew, we ran into scalability challenges.”

Automated, Remote Monitoring

Most water-quality issues can be successfully and quickly addressed with simple chlorine treatments, using tablets similar to those that keep swimming pools clean and clear. However, instead of a monthly shock treatment, the better answer is to set and maintain smaller continual dosages of chlorine to account for variables such as weather and consumption rates.

Previously, water-monitoring required visits from EOS’s water technicians to perform manual tests. Those technicians crossed rugged terrain to visit hundreds of remote communities, some of which are accessible only via horseback, just to test water quality and prescribe the next dose of chlorine. While helpful, those tests failed to account for daily variability in water quality. A community could go days, weeks, or even an entire month without a visit from an EOS technician to provide new data about its current water quality, leaving open potentially dangerous vulnerabilities.

When Meier consulted Dr. Craig Just, professor, and Megan Lindmark, a Ph.D. student, from the University of Iowa, it was an ideal collaboration. “I am a big water guy,” Just explained. “I am into the chemistry and microbiology of water, and we both understood how important water disinfection is in developing countries. We figured that if we could use sensors to detect and report water quality in real time, the EOS techs could operate far more effectively. We could prevent needless visits, save time and money, and improve the quality of the water.”

Easy Installation and Setup

Just and Lindmark devised a solution for monitoring these remote locations: Outfit each site with a small number of sensors that can nearly continuously measure pH, oxidation-reduction potential, chlorine, flow rates, and tank levels. Those readings are recorded every two minutes. Four times an hour, those readings are transmitted to the University of Iowa, where Just and Lindmark perform analyses and visualizations of the water quality and chemistry. If adjustments are needed, they send a text message to staff.

One of the keys to the EOS solution is the Digi XBee 3 Cellular modem that provides the connectivity to send data from far-flung, remote locations. Built on industry-leading technology, pre-certified Digi XBee 3 modems enable engineers to quickly and easily add wireless connectivity to a broad range of applications with the flexibility to switch between multiple frequencies and wireless protocols as needed. They’re ideal for moderate bandwidth (typically < 25 MB/month) and low-cost IoT applications. With Digi Remote Manager®, Digi XBee 3 modules can be easily configured and controlled from a central platform. Built-in Digi TrustFence® security, identity and data privacy features use multiple layers of control to protect against new and evolving cyber threats.

Lindmark started prototyping with a Digi dev board and soon had a proof of concept. “It was all plug-and-play right out of the box,” she said. “It was easy to use the accessories and tools and easy to transmit location information. I’m not an electrical engineer, but I could quickly understand how to use everything.”

Changing the Nature of Water Safety

Now, thanks to Internet-connected sensors powered by solar panels and 12 V car batteries, EOS is changing the very nature of water safety, enabling these remote and low-income municipalities to achieve the water safety needed to help improve the health of the communities. EOS personnel can avoid wasted trips to sites that are within tolerance, and communities enjoy consistently clean water.

“This solution is providing a critical service at a cost that they can sustain,” said Meier. “This is a tipping point that is changing lives. And, thanks to this efficient technology, we’re now poised to achieve this on a scalable, sustainable basis.”

From here, EOS aims to secure funding from government agencies and NGOs to support additional implementations and license the solution to commercial distributors.