有问题吗?

Vium为制药和生物技术公司提高药物开发的成功率

Vium
"Digi首先对我们的电路板进行了全面审查。事实上,有一次,我们甚至把我们的一个系统--大约800磅--运到他们的实验室,以便他们能够更好地了解我们的挑战。他们完成了审查,并给了我们具体的、可操作的建议。"

Kevin Harada,Vium公司的硬件经理

Vium成立于2013年,是一家转化医学公司,专注于为制药和生物技术公司、学术研究人员和新疗法发现和开发实验室提高药物开发的成功率。它的数字平台可以识别生理生物标志物,从而更好地决定哪些化合物应该推进到临床阶段。

Vium的体内解决方案结合了计算机视觉、人工智能、机器学习和传感器技术,无创地收集和分析生理指标和行为,帮助确定哪些数字生物标志物是疾病的最有力指标。

商业挑战

在价值数十亿美元的制药业中,上市时间是最重要的。但药物开发的速度不能以安全为代价,这就是为什么美国食品和药物管理局建立了严格的框架来测试、分析和评估各种化合物的疗效。

Vium公司着手帮助实验室提高安全性,增强他们在小鼠身上测试化合物的能力,并更好地识别生物标志物。为了实现这些目标,该公司结合计算机视觉和一系列传感器技术来监测克隆动物。科学家们对小鼠施用药物,并对它们的反应和结果进行纵向监测,时间可以从几天到几个月到几年。

与制药业的几乎每一个方面一样,活体箱也要经过监管部门的批准。据Vium公司的硬件经理Kevin Harada说,在设计、开发和部署这种用于实验室小鼠的高科技外壳的过程中,Vium公司遇到了符合FCC标准的挑战。

"Vium的硬件平台集成了许多不同的电子元件和边缘计算元件,这些元件是我们自己设计的,用于监测、计算和传输数据,"他说。"但在我们受到严格监管的环境中,我们了解到我们的设计产生了一定程度的电磁干扰,可能会扰乱附近其他电子设备的运行。我们需要专家协助--这就是我们求助于Digi的原因。"

解决办法

Vium的硬件设计团队面临着压力,他们必须找出违规EMI的来源,修改硬件设计以减少干扰,并获得完整的FCC认证。Harada解释了Digi的无线设计服务(WDS)所发挥的关键作用。"坦率地说,我们是在枪口之下,"他说。"我们没有预料到EMI的困难,我们需要大量的重新设计工作。这次我们不能有任何延误或失误。Digi公司的WDS团队为我们提供了所需的专业知识,使之成为现实"。

在产品或服务中添加无线/蜂窝电话组件可能会导致意想不到的复杂性,并带来新的监管合规性和认证问题需要解决。例如,一些组件会增加干扰或无意中充当天线。

Digi WDS帮助工程团队开发无线产品或迁移到无线技术,保证WDS使用其标准开发流程从头到尾设计的任何项目都能满足FCC和运营商的认证。

"我们首先把我们的系统带到一个预认证实验室,"Harada解释说。"当我们得到结果时,我们问Digi需要重新设计什么以及如何去做。首先,他们对我们的电路板进行了全面审查。事实上,有一次,我们甚至把我们的一个系统(大约800磅)运到他们的实验室,以便他们能够更好地了解我们的挑战。他们完成了审查,并给了我们具体的、可操作的建议。在四五个月的时间里,我们多次重复这个过程,这种来回的接触帮助我们反复地改进我们的设计。"

结果

"Harada说:"我对Digi和无线设计服务团队赞不绝口。"他们立即致力于帮助我们解决挑战,并在整个参与过程中对我们的需求作出了很好的反应。 他们在FCC认证过程中有着丰富的经验,也很熟悉,所以他们能够加快我们的上市时间。"

Vium还在准备一个新的解决方案,Digi正在提供帮助。该公司正在设计一种可注射的RFID标签,可以从一个无线RFID阅读器读取。该标签提供重要的生物标志物,包括温度。"这些都是克隆小鼠,所以它们非常难以区分,"Harada说。"RFID将使研究人员能够肯定地识别每只小鼠,并更容易地跟踪所有的小鼠"。

随着这个项目的推进,Harada预计Digi将发挥重要作用。"他说:"Digi WDS在射频问题上拥有出色的专业知识。"Digi的设计审查将加速这个项目,帮助我们避免不必要的陷阱。这些人知道他们在说什么,这已经成为我们的一大优势。"

阅读更多关于认证支持的信息
了解如何使您的设计获得认证并更快地进入市场

相关内容

最佳物联网战略的蜂窝设计考虑因素 最佳物联网战略的蜂窝设计考虑因素 物联网开发者可以接触到各种各样的云平台、嵌入式设备、传感器和连接选项。其中一个... 阅读博客 Digi Wireless设计服务 Digi Wireless设计服务 Digi Wireless Design Services为物联网产品提供全套的咨询、设计和开发服务... 观看视频 嵌入式Linux上的开源许可和应用:一个实用的观点 嵌入式Linux上的开源许可和应用:一个实用的观点 由于开放源代码许可证的影响,专有软件的开发者通常对嵌入式Linux平台心存疑虑... 阅读博客 用你的蜂窝网部署实现全球化 用你的蜂窝网部署实现全球化 随着物联网的日益普及,越来越多的公司正在寻求监测和跟踪他们的资产,跨越... 阅读博客 Digi无线设计服务和Digi XBee ,帮助将足球变成一项智能运动 Digi无线设计服务和Digi XBee ,帮助将足球变成一项智能运动 除了要在不到一周的时间内将原型送到活动现场外,该系统本身还需要能被观众使用。 阅读博客 无线设计服务 无线设计服务 Digi无线设计服务通过嵌入无线技术来帮助公司解决业务问题,以创造创新的M2M产品 赢咖娱乐 Digi WDS帮助Evoqua公司为商业应用提供互联网连接的水监测解决方案 为了降低成本,提高效率和更好地服务于他们的客户,Evoqua水技术公司转向了物联网,以... 阅读故事 物联网软件和服务 物联网软件和服务 远程管理和支持服务、无线设计和工程、物联网咨询、认证支持和培训 查看产品 可靠的互联健康 可靠的互联健康 Digi的物联网解决方案,包括硬件、软件和服务,旨在维持病人、医生、机器和系统之间的重要连接--无论何时何地发生医疗保健。 查看PDF Avancen Avancen公司经FDA批准的按需用药(MOD®)设备正被部署在世界各地的医院和专业护理机构。 阅读故事 美国食品和药物管理局对射频无线医疗设备的指导意见 美国食品和药物管理局对射频无线医疗设备的指导意见 查看PDF 橙色商业服务 Digi和Almerys开发关键的心脏病学远程保健应用 Digi和Orange Business Services的子公司Almerys帮助开发和实施Cardiauvergne,一个心脏病学远程保健。 阅读故事

Vium Improves the Success of Drug Development for Pharmaceutical and Biotech Companies

Vium
"Digi first performed a complete review of our boards. In fact, at one point, we even shipped one of our systems – that’s about 800 pounds – to their labs so they could gain a better understanding of our challenges. They completed their review and gave us specific, actionable recommendations."

Kevin Harada, Manager of Hardware for Vium

Founded in 2013, Vium is a translational medicine company focused on improving the success of drug development for pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies, academic researchers, and novel-therapeutic discovery and development labs. Its digital platform identifies physiological biomarkers that enable better decisions on which compounds should be advanced to the clinical phase. 

Vium’s in vivo solutions combine computer vision, artificial intelligence, machine learning, and sensor technology to non-invasively collect and analyze physiological metrics and behaviors that help identify which digital biomarkers are the strongest indicators of disease.

BUSINESS CHALLENGE

In the multi-billion-dollar pharmaceutical industry, time-to-market is of paramount importance. But speedy drug development can’t come at the cost of safety, which is why the U.S. Food & Drug Administration creates rigorous frameworks for testing, analyzing, and evaluating the efficacy of various compounds.

Vium set out to help labs improve safety, enhance their ability to test compounds on mice, and better identify biomarkers. To achieve these objectives, the company combined computer vision, and a range of sensor technologies to monitor the cloned animals. Scientists administer a drug to mice and monitor their reactions and outcomes longitudinally over periods that can extend from days to months to years.

Like virtually every aspect of the pharmaceutical industry, the vivarium is subject to regulatory approval. According to Kevin Harada, manager of hardware for Vium, over the course of designing, developing, and deploying this high-tech housing for lab mice, Vium ran into challenges with FCC compliance.

“Vium’s hardware platform incorporates many different electronic components and edge compute elements that we designed ourselves for monitoring, calculating, and transmitting data,” he said. “But in our heavily regulated environment, we learned that our design produced levels of electromagnetic interference that could disrupt the operation of other nearby electronic devices. We needed expert assistance – and that’s why we turned to Digi.”

SOLUTION

The pressure was on the Vium hardware design team to root out the sources of offending EMI, revamp the hardware design to minimize interference, and obtain complete FCC certification. Harada explained the critical role Digi's Wireless Design Services (WDS) played. “Frankly, we were under the gun,” he said. “We hadn’t anticipated the EMI difficulties, and we needed extensive redesign work. And we couldn’t afford any delays or missteps this time. Digi’s WDS team gave us the expertise we needed to make that happen.”

Adding wireless/cellular components to a product or service can result in unexpected complexity and bring new regulatory compliance and certification issues to address. For example, some components can add interference or inadvertently act as antennas.

Digi WDS helps engineering teams develop wireless products or migrate to wireless technologies, guaranteeing that any project WDS designs from start to finish using its standard development process will meet FCC and carrier certifications.

“We first brought our system to a precertification lab,” Harada explained. “When we obtained the results, we asked Digi what needed to be redesigned and how to go about it. First, they performed a complete review of our boards. In fact, at one point, we even shipped one of our systems – that’s about 800 pounds – to their labs so they could gain a better understanding of our challenges. They completed their review and gave us specific, actionable recommendations. We repeated this process several times over the course of four or five months, and that back-and-forth engagement helped us iteratively improve our design.”

RESULTS

“I can’t say enough good things about Digi and the Wireless Design Services team,” said Harada. “They immediately committed to helping us solve our challenges and were very responsive to our needs throughout the engagement. They have extensive experience in and familiarity with the FCC certification process, so they were able to accelerate our time-to-market.”

Vium is also preparing a new solution where Digi is providing assistance. The company is designing an injectable RFID tag that can be read from a wireless RFID reader. The tag provides important biomarkers including temperature. “These are all cloned mice, so they are very difficult to distinguish,” Harada said. “The RFID will allow researchers to positively identify each mouse and track all of them more easily.”

As that project moves forward, Harada anticipates Digi will play an important role. “Digi WDS has excellent expertise in RF issues,” he said. “A Digi design review will accelerate this project and help us avoid unnecessary pitfalls. These people know what they’re talking about and that has become a big advantage for us.”

Read more about certification support
Learn how to get your design certified and get to market faster

Related Content

Cellular Design Considerations for an Optimal IoT Strategy Cellular Design Considerations for an Optimal IoT Strategy IoT developers have access to a wide variety of cloud platforms, embedded devices, sensors, and connectivity options. One of... READ BLOG Digi Wireless Design Services Digi Wireless Design Services Digi Wireless Design Services provides a complete range of consultation, design and development services for IoT product... WATCH VIDEO Open Source Licenses and Applications on Embedded Linux: a Practical Viewpoint Open Source Licenses and Applications on Embedded Linux: a Practical Viewpoint Developers of proprietary software are often leery of embedded Linux platforms, due to the implications of open source licenses... READ BLOG Going Global with Your Cellular Deployment Going Global with Your Cellular Deployment As the Internet of Things becomes increasingly popular, more companies are looking to monitor and track their assets across the... READ BLOG Digi Wireless Design Services and Digi XBee Help Turn Soccer into a Smart Sport Digi Wireless Design Services and Digi XBee Help Turn Soccer into a Smart Sport In addition to getting a prototype to the event in less than a week, the system itself needed to be usable by an audience whose... READ BLOG Wireless Design Services Wireless Design Services Digi wireless design services helps companies solve business problems by embedding wireless technologies to create innovative M2M products Evoqua Digi WDS Helps Evoqua Deliver an Internet-Connected Water-Monitoring Solution for Commercial Applications To drive costs down, improve efficiency and better serve their customers, Evoqua Water Technologies turned to the IoT to... READ STORY IoT Software and Services IoT Software and Services Remote management and support services, wireless design and engineering, IoT consulting, certification support and training VIEW PRODUCTS Reliable Connected Health Reliable Connected Health Industry-leading Digi solutions are purpose-built for today’s connected medical devices. VIEW PDF Avancen Avancen’s FDA-approved Medication on Demand (MOD®) device is being deployed in hospitals and skilled nursing facilities around... READ STORY FDA Guidance for RF Wireless Medical Devices FDA Guidance for RF Wireless Medical Devices To ensure the proper functioning of wireless medical devices, the FDA regularly issues requirements and guidelines. This white paper describes their impact on product designs in the healthcare market, and how to ensure you meet your go-to-market goals. VIEW PDF Orange Business Services Digi and Almerys Develop Critical Cardiology Telehealth Application Digi and Almerys, a subsidiary of Orange Business Services, helped develop and implement Cardiauvergne, a cardiology telehealth... READ STORY