Haben Sie eine Frage?

Mit Digi Connect Sensor+ hilft Nobel Water Systems Wasserbezirken, Status und Leistung zu überwachen, Leckagen zu verhindern und Kosten zu senken

Nobel Water Systems
"Es ist sehr einfach, mit Digi Remote Manager alle Parameter für den Sensor einzustellen und zu testen, um sicherzustellen, dass er richtig funktioniert und eine ausreichende Batterielebensdauer hat. Wir können die Lösung in nur 15 Minuten installieren und bereitstellen."

Aretha Samuel - CTO von Nobel Water Systems

Nobel Water Systems wurde 1992 gegründet und hat seinen Hauptsitz in San Bernardino, Kalifornien. Das Unternehmen liefert Geo- und Visualisierungslösungen, die Versorgungsunternehmen und Wasserbezirken helfen, ihre Infrastrukturen effizient zu verwalten. Digi Connect® Sensor+ und Digi Remote Manager® spielen eine Schlüsselrolle in der Hauptlösung, die es den Kunden ermöglicht, Wassersysteme zentral zu orchestrieren und zu überwachen, kostspielige Lecks zu verhindern und einen überzeugenden ROI zu erzielen.

Eindämmen von Wasserverschwendung

Da Staaten und Regionen mit Problemen bei der Wasserversorgung zu kämpfen haben, verschärfen staatliche Aufsichtsbehörden ihre Kontrollen darüber, wie Bezirke Wasser verbrauchen und wie viel durch vermeidbare Verschwendung verloren geht. Das gilt vor allem für Kalifornien, wo steigende Bevölkerungszahlen, ein wärmeres Klima und Waldbrände gemeinsam zu schwierigen Managementherausforderungen geführt haben.

Tanmay Thakur, leitender Ingenieur bei Nobel Water Systems, erklärte, warum Wasserlecks ein Hauptgrund zur Sorge sind. Laut der U.S. Environmental Protection Agency verliert ein durchschnittlicher Wasserbezirk 16 Prozent seines Wassers durch Lecks in seinem System - und 75 Prozent dieses Verlustes sind rückgewinnbar. 1"Es wird für Wasserbezirke immer wichtiger, ihre Infrastruktur in Echtzeit zu überwachen, Lecks zu erkennen und sie umgehend zu beheben", sagte er. "Staaten wie Kalifornien führen jetzt gründliche Prüfungen durch, und die Bezirke müssen Daten für Dutzende von Parametern sammeln und darüber berichten. Wenn der Distrikt die vorgeschriebenen Ziele nicht erreicht, kann das Konsequenzen haben."

Natürlich sind die meisten Wasserleitungen - und auch die Seitenleitungen - unterirdisch verlegt, was die Lecksuche erschwert. "Ein Kunde bemerkt vielleicht einen Abfall des Wasserdrucks, und das ist der erste Hinweis darauf, dass wir ein Problem haben", sagt Thakur. "Dann kann es mehrere Tage dauern, bis ein Außendienstteam vor Ort ist und mit Ultraschallgeräten die Stelle lokalisieren und mit der Reparatur beginnen kann."

Zentrale Überwachung, schnellere Reaktionen

Als Antwort darauf entwickelte Nobel GeoViewer, ein Cloud-basiertes GIS/IoT-Asset-Management-System, das Wasserbezirken Zugang zu Echtzeitdaten bietet. Die einfach zu bedienende Anwendung synchronisiert Echtzeit-GIS-Daten, Ticket-Informationen, Berichte und andere wichtige Informationen zwischen entfernten Außenstandorten und einer zentralen Stelle. GeoViewer bietet außerdem Zugriff auf alle Objektdaten innerhalb eines Bezirks, einschließlich Eigentümerinformationen, Adresse, Parzellennummer, Objektmerkmale und Wartungshistorie.

Einer der Schlüssel zu diesen Echtzeitdaten ist Digi Connect Sensor+, ein voll integriertes, batteriebetriebenes Mobilfunk Gateway mit E/A für den Anschluss an eine Vielzahl von externen Sensoren. Digi Connect Sensor+ ermöglicht die Fernüberwachung und -diagnose an Orten, an denen Strom nicht ohne weiteres verfügbar ist. Die einfache Installation, die Zuverlässigkeit und der geringe Datenverbrauch machen die Fernüberwachung in Bereichen möglich, in denen dies bisher unerschwinglich war. Digi Connect Sensor+ nutzt auch den Digi Remote Manager® (Digi RM), der es den Kunden von Nobel ermöglicht, eine große Anzahl von Sensoren in ihrem Wassersystem zu überwachen und diese Daten einfach in GeoViewer zu integrieren.

"Wir sind sehr zufrieden mit dem Digi Connect Sensor+", sagt Aretha Samuel, CTO von Nobel Systems. "Das Gerät selbst hat ein hervorragendes luft- und wasserdichtes Gehäuse mit einer richtigen Antenne. Außerdem ist es sehr einfach, mit Digi Remote Manager alle Parameter für den Sensor einzustellen und zu testen, um sicherzustellen, dass er ordnungsgemäß funktioniert und eine ausreichende Batterielebensdauer hat. Wir können die Lösung in nur 15 Minuten installieren und bereitstellen."

Größere Kosteneinsparungen, höhere Auswertungen

"Durch die Anbringung von Drucksensoren an den Wasserleitungen, Seitenleitungen und Druckreduzierstationen können wir sehen, ob es Lecks gibt und viel schneller reagieren", sagt Thakur. "Digi Connect Sensor+ überträgt diese Daten an die zentrale Verwaltungskonsole des Bezirks, so dass die Manager den Status ihrer gesamten Wasserinfrastruktur in Echtzeit sehen können. Wenn der Sensor einen Druckabfall feststellt, der länger als eine Minute andauert, sendet GeoViewer eine Warnung an das Telefon des Benutzers. Der Wassermanager weiß dann in weniger als 15 Minuten über jedes bedeutende Leck Bescheid." Diese Daten werden auch in einem sicheren Portal gespeichert, um Kunden, die Bedenken wegen Datenverletzungen haben, zu beruhigen.

Wasserleck

Nobel schätzt, dass seine Kunden jährlich bis zu 20 Prozent ihrer Wasserrechnungen einsparen können, was ein starkes wirtschaftliches Argument für die Lösung darstellt. Aber auch die öffentliche Sicherheit ist ein Thema. "Waldbrände sind in einigen Bezirken ein wiederkehrendes Problem", sagt Thakur. "Wenn der Druck niedrig ist, ist das Risiko hoch. Und unsere Daten können auch den nicht abgerechneten, nicht gezählten Wasserverbrauch zeigen, der mit dem Löschen dieser Brände verbunden ist."

Der Staat Kalifornien benotet auch jeden Wasserbezirk, und ein Fernüberwachungssystem treibt diese Noten viel höher. Thakur erklärte, dass der Staat gerne eine Fernüberwachung sieht - viel mehr als ein einfaches SCADA-System - damit die Kunden eine Chance haben, bessere Noten für ihre Leistung zu erhalten.

"Mit Datenaktualisierungen in Echtzeit über Digi Connect Sensor+ bietet unser GeoViewer den Wasserbezirken wirklich eine viel bessere Kontrolle über ihre Wasserinfrastruktur, um den Service und die Zufriedenheit zu erhöhen und gleichzeitig die Kosten und Risiken von Lecks zu senken."

Letztendlich ist es eine Win-Win-Win-Situation für die Wasserbezirke, den Staat und die Umwelt.

1https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2015-04/documents/epa816f13002.pdf

Have a Question?

With Digi Connect Sensor+, Nobel Water Systems Helps Water Districts Monitor Status and Performance, Prevent Leaks, Reduce Costs

Nobel Water Systems
"It’s very easy to use Digi Remote Manager to set all the parameters for the sensor and test to ensure it is operating properly and has sufficient battery life. We can install and provision the solution in just 15 minutes."

Aretha Samuel – CTO of Nobel Water Systems

Founded in 1992, and headquartered in San Bernardino, California, Nobel Water Systems delivers geospatial and visualization solutions that help utilities and water districts efficiently manage their infrastructures. Digi Connect® Sensor+ and Digi Remote Manager® play a key role in its flagship solution that enables customers to centrally orchestrate and monitor water systems, prevent costly leaks and achieve a compelling ROI.

Clamping Down on Wasted Water

As states and regions struggle with water-supply issues, government regulators are tightening their controls on how districts consume water and how much is lost to avoidable waste. That’s particularly true in California where rising populations, a warmer climate, and wildfires have collectively created difficult management challenges.

Tanmay Thakur, lead engineer for Nobel Water Systems, shared why water leaks are a primary source of concern. According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the average water district loses 16 percent of its water to leaks in its system – and 75 percent of that loss is recoverable. 1“It’s increasingly important for water districts to monitor their infrastructure in real time, detect leaks, and promptly remedy them,” he said. “States like California now conduct thorough audits and the districts must collect and report on data for dozens of parameters. If the district falls short of mandated goals, they can face consequences.”

Naturally, most water mains – and even lateral lines – are buried underground, making leak-detection a difficult proposition. “A customer might notice a drop in water pressure, and that’s the first indication we have a problem,” Thakur said. “Then it can take several days before a field crew can get to the location and use ultrasonic devices to pinpoint the location and begin repairs.”

Central Monitoring, Faster Responses

In response, Nobel developed GeoViewer, a cloud-based GIS/IoT asset management system that gives water districts access to real-time data. The easy-to-use application synchronizes real-time GIS data, ticket information, reports, and other critical information between remote field sites and a central office. GeoViewer also provides access to all property data within a district, including owner information, address, parcel number, property characteristics, and maintenance history.

One of the keys to that real-time data is Digi Connect Sensor+, a fully integrated, battery-powered cellular gateway with I/O for connecting to a wide range of external sensors. Digi Connect Sensor+ enables remote monitoring and diagnostics in places where power is not easily available, and its easy installation, reliability and low data usage make remote monitoring possible in areas where it was previously cost prohibitive. Digi Connect Sensor+ also leverages Digi Remote Manager® (Digi RM), enabling Nobel’s customers to monitor large numbers of sensors across its water system and easily integrate that data into GeoViewer.

“We’re very happy with Digi Connect Sensor+,” said Aretha Samuel, Nobel Systems’ CTO. “The device itself has an excellent airtight, watertight enclosure with a proper antenna. Plus, it’s very easy to use Digi Remote Manager to set all the parameters for the sensor and test to ensure it is operating properly and has sufficient battery life. We can install and provision the solution in just 15 minutes.”

Greater Cost Savings, Higher Evaluations

“By attaching pressure sensors to the water mains, lateral lines, and pressure-reducing stations, we can see if there are leaks and respond much faster,” said Thakur. “Digi Connect Sensor+ transmits that data to the district’s central administration console, so that managers can see the status of their entire water infrastructure in real time. If the sensor detects a drop in pressure that lasts more than one minute, GeoViewer sends an alert to the user’s phone. The water manager will know about every meaningful leak in less than 15 minutes.” That data is also stored in a secure portal to assure customers with concerns about data breaches.

water leak

Nobel estimates that its customers can save up to 20 percent annually on their water bills, providing a strong business case for the solution. But public safety is also an issue. “Wildfires are a recurring issue in some districts,” said Thakur. “If the pressure is low, the risk is high. And our data can also show the unbilled, unmetered water consumption associated with putting out those fires.”

The state of California also grades each water district, and a remote monitoring system pushes those grades much higher. Thakur explained that the state likes to see remote monitoring – much more than a simple SCADA system – so customers have a chance to receive better grades on their performance.

“With real-time data updates through Digi Connect Sensor+, our GeoViewer really provides water districts with much greater control of their water infrastructure to increase service and satisfaction, while lowering the costs and risks of leaks.”

Ultimately, it's win-win-win for the water districts, the state, and the environment.

1https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2015-04/documents/epa816f13002.pdf

Related Content

6 Traits of a Sustainable City (With Examples) 6 Traits of a Sustainable City (With Examples) A sustainable city incorporates eco-friendly practices, green spaces and supporting technology into the urban environment to... READ BLOG Brown and Caldwell Brown and Caldwell Uses Digi Solutions to Help Agencies Monitor Vital Water Quality and Infrastructure Performance One solution for water agencies wanting to achieve compliance and lower costs? Implementing sophisticated sensors and real-time... READ STORY Wait! Don’t Deploy Connected Devices Without This Wait! Don’t Deploy Connected Devices Without This How you configure connected devices prior to deployment can make all the difference in your ability to gain critical insights... READ BLOG What Is Clean Tech and How Is IoT Enabling It? What Is Clean Tech and How Is IoT Enabling It? The adoption of IoT-enabled clean tech is increasing as municipalities seek to improve air quality and businesses seek to... READ BLOG Digi Remote Manager: Your IoT Command Center Digi Remote Manager: Your IoT Command Center With the complexity of IoT networks growing daily, it’s important to get the tools in place to manage them. Digi Remote Manager... WATCH VIDEO E-GEAR Digi WDS Helps E-GEAR Create Energy Management Controller to Optimize Solar Power Generation, Storage, Usage and Movement onto the Grid In Hawaii, where most goods and supplies arrive by cargo ships, energy resources – particularly fossil fuels – are both... READ STORY Remote Device Management for the IoT Remote Device Management for the IoT Digi Remote Manager gives you a command center for your dynamic network that simplifies every aspect of deploying, managing and updating your devices. VIEW PDF Deploy, Manage and Scale Your IoT Communications Network Webinar Deploy, Manage and Scale Your IoT Communications Network Webinar Learn from ElectriCities and Digi how to gain complete visibility and control over your distributed devices, enabling you to... RECORDED WEBINAR Evoqua Digi WDS Helps Evoqua Deliver an Internet-Connected Water-Monitoring Solution for Commercial Applications To drive costs down, improve efficiency and better serve their customers, Evoqua Water Technologies turned to the IoT to... READ STORY Digi Helps Summit Improve Groundwater Protection And Management Summit Envirosolutions is an environmental consulting firm that uses sophisticated information systems to gather and evaluate... READ STORY The Future of Water is Wireless The Future of Water is Wireless Delivering IoT connectivity solutions where failure is not an option VIEW PDF Digi Connect Sensor+ Digi Connect Sensor+ Easy-to-install and roll-out ready, battery-powered cellular gateway solution VIEW PRODUCT Digi Remote Manager Digi Remote Manager Configure, Deploy and Manage Remote Assets Securely VIEW PRODUCT