有问题吗?

通过Digi Connect Sensor+,诺贝尔水务系统公司帮助水区监测状态和性能,防止渗漏,减少成本

诺贝尔水务系统
"使用Digi Remote Manager ,设置传感器的所有参数,并进行测试以确保其正常运行和有足够的电池寿命,这是非常容易的。我们可以在短短15分钟内安装和配置该解决方案"。

Aretha Samuel - Nobel Water Systems的首席技术官

诺贝尔水务系统公司成立于1992年,总部设在加利福尼亚州圣贝纳迪诺,提供地理空间和可视化解决方案,帮助公用事业和水区有效管理其基础设施。Digi Connect® Sensor+Digi Remote Manager®在其旗舰解决方案中发挥了关键作用,使客户能够集中协调和监测水系统,防止昂贵的泄漏并实现令人信服的投资回报率。

严厉打击浪费水的行为

随着各州和各地区与供水问题作斗争,政府监管机构正在加强对各地区用水方式和因可避免的浪费而损失的水量的控制。在加州尤其如此,人口增加、气候变暖和野火共同造成了困难的管理挑战。

诺贝尔水务系统的首席工程师Tanmay Thakur分享了为什么漏水是人们关注的主要来源。根据美国环境保护局的数据,平均每个水区有16%的水因系统漏水而损失,而其中75%的损失是可以恢复的。1"对水区来说,实时监测他们的基础设施,发现漏水,并及时补救,是越来越重要了,"他说。"加州等州现在进行彻底的审计,各区必须收集和报告几十个参数的数据。如果该区没有达到规定的目标,他们会面临后果。"

当然,大多数水管--甚至是侧线--都埋在地下,这使得检漏成为一个困难的提议。"用户可能注意到水压下降,这是我们有问题的第一个迹象,"Thakur说。"然后,可能需要几天时间,现场工作人员才能到达该地点,使用超声波设备确定位置并开始维修。

中央监控,更快响应

作为回应,Nobel开发了GeoViewer,这是一个基于云的GIS/IoT资产管理系统,使水区能够获得实时数据。这个易于使用的应用程序可以在远程现场和中央办公室之间同步实时GIS数据、票据信息、报告和其他关键信息。GeoViewer还提供对一个地区内所有财产数据的访问,包括业主信息、地址、地块编号、财产特征和维护历史。

这种实时数据的关键之一是Digi Connect Sensor+,这是一个完全集成的、以电池为动力的蜂窝式网关,具有连接各种外部传感器的I/O。Digi Connect Sensor+可以在不容易获得电源的地方进行远程监控和诊断,它的简易安装、可靠性和低数据用量使远程监控在以前成本过高的地区成为可能。Digi Connect Sensor+还利用了Digi Remote Manager®(Digi RM),使Nobel的客户能够监测其水系统中的大量传感器,并轻松地将这些数据整合到GeoViewer中。

"我们对Digi Connect Sensor+非常满意,"Nobel Systems的首席技术官Aretha Samuel说。"该设备本身有一个优秀的气密性、水密性外壳,并有一个合适的天线。另外,使用Digi Remote Manager ,为传感器设置所有参数并进行测试,以确保其正常运行并有足够的电池寿命,这一点非常容易。我们可以在短短15分钟内安装和配置该解决方案"。

更大的成本节约,更高的评价

"Thakur说:"通过在水管、侧线和减压站上安装压力传感器,我们可以看到是否有漏水,并更快地做出反应。"Digi Connect Sensor+将这些数据传输到该区的中央管理控制台,这样管理人员就可以实时看到整个供水基础设施的状况。如果传感器检测到持续超过一分钟的压力下降,GeoViewer会向用户的手机发送警报。水务经理将在不到15分钟内知道每一个有意义的泄漏"。这些数据也被储存在一个安全的门户网站上,以保证客户对数据泄露的担忧。

漏水

诺贝尔公司估计,其客户每年可节省高达20%的水费,为该解决方案提供了强有力的商业案例。但公共安全也是一个问题。"野火在一些地区是一个反复出现的问题,"Thakur说。"如果压力很低,风险就很高。而我们的数据也可以显示出与扑灭这些火灾有关的未开票、未计量的水消耗。"

加利福尼亚州也对每个水区进行评分,而远程监控系统可以将这些评分推得更高。Thakur解释说,州政府喜欢看到远程监控--比简单的SCADA系统要多得多--所以客户有机会在业绩上得到更好的评分。

"通过Digi Connect Sensor+的实时数据更新,我们的GeoViewer真正为水区提供了对其供水基础设施的更大控制,以提高服务和满意度,同时降低了成本和泄漏的风险"。

最终,这对水区、国家和环境都是三赢的。

1https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2015-04/documents/epa816f13002.pdf

相关内容

可持续发展城市的6个特征(附实例 可持续发展城市的6个特征(附实例 一个可持续发展的城市将生态友好的做法、绿色空间和支持性技术纳入城市环境,以... 阅读博客 布朗和考德威尔 布朗与考德威尔公司利用Digi解决方案帮助各机构监测重要的水质和基础设施性能 水务机构想要实现合规和降低成本的一个解决方案?实施复杂的传感器和实时... 阅读故事 等等!没有这个就不要部署连接的设备 等等!没有这个就不要部署连接的设备 在部署之前,你如何配置连接的设备,可以使你获得关键的洞察力的能力完全不同。 阅读博客 什么是清洁技术,物联网是如何实现的? 什么是清洁技术,物联网是如何实现的? 随着市政当局寻求改善空气质量和企业寻求改善空气质量,采用物联网清洁技术的情况正在增加。 阅读博客 Digi Remote Manager: 你的物联网指挥中心 Digi Remote Manager: 你的物联网指挥中心 随着物联网网络的复杂性与日俱增,重要的是要有相应的工具来管理它们。Digi Remote Manager... 观看视频 E-GEAR Digi WDS帮助E-GEAR创建能源管理控制器,以优化太阳能发电、存储、使用和转移到电网的过程。 在夏威夷,大多数货物和供应品通过货船运抵,能源资源--特别是化石燃料--既是... 阅读故事 物联网的远程设备管理 物联网的远程设备管理 Digi Remote Manager 为你的动态网络提供了一个指挥中心,简化了部署、管理和更新设备的每个方面。 查看PDF 部署、管理和扩展您的物联网通信网络 网络研讨会 部署、管理和扩展您的物联网通信网络 网络研讨会 从ElectriCities和Digi那里了解如何获得对你的分布式设备的完全可见性和控制,使你能够... 网络研讨会录音 赢咖娱乐 Digi WDS帮助Evoqua公司为商业应用提供互联网连接的水监测解决方案 为了降低成本,提高效率和更好地服务于他们的客户,Evoqua水技术公司转向了物联网,以... 阅读故事 Digi帮助峰会改善地下水保护和管理 Summit Envirosolutions是一家环境咨询公司,使用复杂的信息系统来收集和评估... 阅读故事 水的未来是无线的 水的未来是无线的 提供物联网连接解决方案,失败是不可能的 查看PDF Digi Connect Sensor+ Digi Connect Sensor+ 易于安装和推出的、电池供电的蜂窝网关解决方案 查看产品 Digi Remote Manager Digi Remote Manager 安全地配置、部署和管理远程资产 查看产品

Have a Question?

With Digi Connect Sensor+, Nobel Water Systems Helps Water Districts Monitor Status and Performance, Prevent Leaks, Reduce Costs

Nobel Water Systems
"It’s very easy to use Digi Remote Manager to set all the parameters for the sensor and test to ensure it is operating properly and has sufficient battery life. We can install and provision the solution in just 15 minutes."

Aretha Samuel – CTO of Nobel Water Systems

Founded in 1992, and headquartered in San Bernardino, California, Nobel Water Systems delivers geospatial and visualization solutions that help utilities and water districts efficiently manage their infrastructures. Digi Connect® Sensor+ and Digi Remote Manager® play a key role in its flagship solution that enables customers to centrally orchestrate and monitor water systems, prevent costly leaks and achieve a compelling ROI.

Clamping Down on Wasted Water

As states and regions struggle with water-supply issues, government regulators are tightening their controls on how districts consume water and how much is lost to avoidable waste. That’s particularly true in California where rising populations, a warmer climate, and wildfires have collectively created difficult management challenges.

Tanmay Thakur, lead engineer for Nobel Water Systems, shared why water leaks are a primary source of concern. According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the average water district loses 16 percent of its water to leaks in its system – and 75 percent of that loss is recoverable. 1“It’s increasingly important for water districts to monitor their infrastructure in real time, detect leaks, and promptly remedy them,” he said. “States like California now conduct thorough audits and the districts must collect and report on data for dozens of parameters. If the district falls short of mandated goals, they can face consequences.”

Naturally, most water mains – and even lateral lines – are buried underground, making leak-detection a difficult proposition. “A customer might notice a drop in water pressure, and that’s the first indication we have a problem,” Thakur said. “Then it can take several days before a field crew can get to the location and use ultrasonic devices to pinpoint the location and begin repairs.”

Central Monitoring, Faster Responses

In response, Nobel developed GeoViewer, a cloud-based GIS/IoT asset management system that gives water districts access to real-time data. The easy-to-use application synchronizes real-time GIS data, ticket information, reports, and other critical information between remote field sites and a central office. GeoViewer also provides access to all property data within a district, including owner information, address, parcel number, property characteristics, and maintenance history.

One of the keys to that real-time data is Digi Connect Sensor+, a fully integrated, battery-powered cellular gateway with I/O for connecting to a wide range of external sensors. Digi Connect Sensor+ enables remote monitoring and diagnostics in places where power is not easily available, and its easy installation, reliability and low data usage make remote monitoring possible in areas where it was previously cost prohibitive. Digi Connect Sensor+ also leverages Digi Remote Manager® (Digi RM), enabling Nobel’s customers to monitor large numbers of sensors across its water system and easily integrate that data into GeoViewer.

“We’re very happy with Digi Connect Sensor+,” said Aretha Samuel, Nobel Systems’ CTO. “The device itself has an excellent airtight, watertight enclosure with a proper antenna. Plus, it’s very easy to use Digi Remote Manager to set all the parameters for the sensor and test to ensure it is operating properly and has sufficient battery life. We can install and provision the solution in just 15 minutes.”

Greater Cost Savings, Higher Evaluations

“By attaching pressure sensors to the water mains, lateral lines, and pressure-reducing stations, we can see if there are leaks and respond much faster,” said Thakur. “Digi Connect Sensor+ transmits that data to the district’s central administration console, so that managers can see the status of their entire water infrastructure in real time. If the sensor detects a drop in pressure that lasts more than one minute, GeoViewer sends an alert to the user’s phone. The water manager will know about every meaningful leak in less than 15 minutes.” That data is also stored in a secure portal to assure customers with concerns about data breaches.

water leak

Nobel estimates that its customers can save up to 20 percent annually on their water bills, providing a strong business case for the solution. But public safety is also an issue. “Wildfires are a recurring issue in some districts,” said Thakur. “If the pressure is low, the risk is high. And our data can also show the unbilled, unmetered water consumption associated with putting out those fires.”

The state of California also grades each water district, and a remote monitoring system pushes those grades much higher. Thakur explained that the state likes to see remote monitoring – much more than a simple SCADA system – so customers have a chance to receive better grades on their performance.

“With real-time data updates through Digi Connect Sensor+, our GeoViewer really provides water districts with much greater control of their water infrastructure to increase service and satisfaction, while lowering the costs and risks of leaks.”

Ultimately, it's win-win-win for the water districts, the state, and the environment.

1https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2015-04/documents/epa816f13002.pdf

Related Content

6 Traits of a Sustainable City (With Examples) 6 Traits of a Sustainable City (With Examples) A sustainable city incorporates eco-friendly practices, green spaces and supporting technology into the urban environment to... READ BLOG Brown and Caldwell Brown and Caldwell Uses Digi Solutions to Help Agencies Monitor Vital Water Quality and Infrastructure Performance One solution for water agencies wanting to achieve compliance and lower costs? Implementing sophisticated sensors and real-time... READ STORY Wait! Don’t Deploy Connected Devices Without This Wait! Don’t Deploy Connected Devices Without This How you configure connected devices prior to deployment can make all the difference in your ability to gain critical insights... READ BLOG What Is Clean Tech and How Is IoT Enabling It? What Is Clean Tech and How Is IoT Enabling It? The adoption of IoT-enabled clean tech is increasing as municipalities seek to improve air quality and businesses seek to... READ BLOG Digi Remote Manager: Your IoT Command Center Digi Remote Manager: Your IoT Command Center With the complexity of IoT networks growing daily, it’s important to get the tools in place to manage them. Digi Remote Manager... WATCH VIDEO E-GEAR Digi WDS Helps E-GEAR Create Energy Management Controller to Optimize Solar Power Generation, Storage, Usage and Movement onto the Grid In Hawaii, where most goods and supplies arrive by cargo ships, energy resources – particularly fossil fuels – are both... READ STORY Remote Device Management for the IoT Remote Device Management for the IoT Digi Remote Manager gives you a command center for your dynamic network that simplifies every aspect of deploying, managing and updating your devices. VIEW PDF Deploy, Manage and Scale Your IoT Communications Network Webinar Deploy, Manage and Scale Your IoT Communications Network Webinar Learn from ElectriCities and Digi how to gain complete visibility and control over your distributed devices, enabling you to... RECORDED WEBINAR Evoqua Digi WDS Helps Evoqua Deliver an Internet-Connected Water-Monitoring Solution for Commercial Applications To drive costs down, improve efficiency and better serve their customers, Evoqua Water Technologies turned to the IoT to... READ STORY Digi Helps Summit Improve Groundwater Protection And Management Summit Envirosolutions is an environmental consulting firm that uses sophisticated information systems to gather and evaluate... READ STORY The Future of Water is Wireless The Future of Water is Wireless Delivering IoT connectivity solutions where failure is not an option VIEW PDF Digi Connect Sensor+ Digi Connect Sensor+ Easy-to-install and roll-out ready, battery-powered cellular gateway solution VIEW PRODUCT Digi Remote Manager Digi Remote Manager Configure, Deploy and Manage Remote Assets Securely VIEW PRODUCT