有问题吗?

LTE运营效率为ElectriCities节省数千美元

"与我们传统的铜线连接相比,LTE提供了巨大的成本节约。Digi是与我们成员的电表和发电机进行安全、可靠通信的合理选择。"

John Coates,EMS应用工程师
ElectriCities为北卡罗来纳州、南卡罗来纳州和弗吉尼亚州的90个成员城市和120万客户提供服务。

北卡罗来纳州的ElectriCities是一个非营利组织,为整个北卡罗来纳州、南卡罗来纳州和弗吉尼亚州的电力服务提供一系列的技术服务,包括为90个成员城市和120万客户提供紧急援助、培训、安全和通信。

该公司维护着一个覆盖数千平方英里的复杂网络,并从一系列的电表、发电机和遥测设备中收集数据,为其成员的公用事业提供全面的通信和管理服务。

ElectriCities还为北卡罗来纳州第一市政电力局(NCMPA1)和北卡罗来纳州东部市政电力局(NCEMPA)提供管理服务。

商业挑战

ElectriCities面临的主要业务挑战包括:鉴于电力网络容易受到天气事件等问题的影响,为客户提供最可靠的服务的能力,以及扩大和增长其覆盖区域和服务产品的能力。

他们严重依赖传统的基础设施,如T1电路和56K调制解调器。如果一棵树倒下,拉断了一条POTS线路,可能几天或几周后,通信公司才会赶到现场进行服务呼叫。由于传统系统不可靠,而且前往停电地点排除故障和确定修复方法的成本很高,所以必须有一个更好的方法。

扩大通信网络的现有技术有利有弊。为每个站点安装传统的56K铜线电路成本过高,同时增加了树木和雷击造成的物理损坏的风险。替代的通信方法,如光纤,可能会减少雷击的威胁,但对于每个站点相对有限的带宽需求来说,成本太高,而且过高。

"我们在寻找合适的技术时发现了蜂窝电话,"ElectriCities的首席系统协调员John Coates说。"今天,网络很广阔,部署蜂窝网络的成本很低,而且可靠性很好。"此外,随着蜂窝数据成本的降低,ElectriCities决定转向蜂窝网络将提供他们所需的未来证明,以向前推进。

Digi International已经有多年的历史,成功地为加州、科罗拉多州、德克萨斯州、密歇根州、佛罗里达州、纽约州和其他许多州的电力公司提供蜂窝电话解决方案。在国际上,Digi还为众多拉美和欧洲国家创建了解决方案。

解决方案

发电机和控制柜内有用于发电机控制的Digi WR31和用于计量通信的Digi WR21。

一旦ElectriCities团队为他们的新网络基础设施选择了LTE,重点就转向了为连接蜂窝网络而优化的硬件。"科茨说:"快速上线的能力是关键,同时也要求硬件是安全的,能够灵活地在多个运营商上运行,并且能够通过一个集中的管理工具进行管理。

由于已经部署在现场的电表不可避免地混合在一起,并且需要安全可靠的电表轮询数据通信,因此必须找到一个集中管理的蜂窝式解决方案,该方案要足够可靠,能够为频繁的抄表工作保持网络连接,并且足够灵活,能够支持与Schneider、Itron、JEMStar和SEL设备的通信。

ElectriCities选择了Digi WR31Digi WR21LTE路由器,因为它们提供了可靠性、安全性、控制和灵活性的正确组合。工业机柜中的Digi WR31用于发电机控制,Digi WR21用于计量通信。

路由器是ElectriCities的理想选择,因为Digi SureLink®功能使Digi LTE路由器能够通过主动技术(如ping)或被动技术(通过状态防火墙)监测连接的健康状况,然后启动纠正措施,如蜂窝模块重置或路由器重启,以确保最大的正常运行时间。这样就可以在蜂窝网络进行维护和升级期间保持稳定的连接,并检查不活动的设备,这两种情况都可能导致设备失去网络连接。路由器还包括一个IP流量分析器,可以检查路由器上的几乎任何接口或协议。在调试复杂的配置方案和验证数据从一个点到另一个点的安全通过时,这可能是一个非常宝贵的工具。

Digi高性能工业路由器提供多载波支持,因此单个路由器可以在主要和备用LTE载波之间进行切换,以保证可靠性。此外,它们还集成了Digi Remote Manager®,这是一个托管的安全、配置和管理解决方案,使较小的团队能够通过一个单一的入口轻松管理和保护广泛部署的解决方案。该平台的一个主要特点是,它监测已部署设备的配置,并能自动进行补救,使配置恢复到批准的设置。

结果

ElectriCities在采用Digi解决方案对变电站电表和现场安装的发电机进行实时数据收集后的第一年,就节省了30多万美元的遥测费用。节省的费用每年都在持续增长。此外,ElectriCities发现,Digi的LTE路由器保持的VPN连接比他们过去使用的拨号调制解调器要可靠得多。

使用Digi技术为整个网络的关键领域带来了节约:通过使用无线路由器,每个站点每年的雷击费用减少了20,000美元。此外,由于减少了排除故障和维修设备的时间,再加上减少了维护合同,每个站点每年又节省了30,000美元。

同样重要的是,该解决方案使ElectriCities能够通过一个紧凑的团队来扩展他们的业务,为现在包括多个州在内的更广泛的地区提供服务。从一个单一的入口点监测和安全管理大型部署的能力,使团队能够在不增加人数的情况下提供覆盖和满足更大的需求。

ElectriCities能够更可靠和有效地在广阔的地理区域提供管理和通信服务,改善和提高对成员城市和客户的电力供应。

寻找智慧城市解决方案?请联系我们

了解更多关于智慧城市的应用
获取 "智能城市。你的城市跟上了吗?"

相关内容

美国12大智能城市 - 2020年智能城市实例 美国12大智能城市 - 2020年智能城市实例 美国的智能城市正在部署互联技术和物联网解决方案,以实现从增强关键性问题到解决所有问题的目标。 阅读博客 E-GEAR Digi WDS帮助E-GEAR创建能源管理控制器,以优化太阳能发电、存储、使用和转移到电网的过程。 在夏威夷,大多数货物和供应品通过货船运抵,能源资源--特别是化石燃料--既是... 阅读故事 物联网的远程设备管理 物联网的远程设备管理 Digi Remote Manager 为你的动态网络提供了一个指挥中心,简化了部署、管理和更新设备的每个方面。 查看PDF 什么是零接触配置? 什么是零接触配置? 零接触配置是指配置物联网设备并从中央推送更新到网络的过程。 阅读博客 ǞǞǞ Enlazza使用Digi Remote Manager ,以安全地管理Digi路由器的车队 Enlazza公司利用Digi Remote Manager APIs开发了一项创新服务,称为主机名称解决方案(HNS)。该服务的目的是为了让人们能够更好地了解自己。 阅读故事 Digi Remote Manager ,物联网栈,以及与AWS和Azure的整合 Digi Remote Manager ,物联网栈,以及与AWS和Azure的整合 欢迎来到我们关于物联网设备管理系列的下一篇文章,介绍Digi Remote Manager®(Digi RM)。 阅读博客 物联网在智慧城市中的应用 物联网在智慧城市中的应用 今天,物联网无处不在,从工业应用到应急服务、公共交通、公共... 阅读博客 Digi WR31 Digi WR31 专为关键基础设施和工业应用设计的智能4G LTE路由器 查看产品 Digi Remote Manager Digi Remote Manager 安全地配置、部署和管理远程资产 查看产品 Digi WR21 Digi WR21 用于远程和移动网络应用的紧凑、灵活、低成本的3G/4G/LTE企业路由器 查看产品

Have a Question?

LTE Operational Efficiencies Save Thousands for ElectriCities

"LTE offered enormous cost savings over our legacy copper connections. Digi was the logical choice for secure, reliable communication with our members’ meters and generators."

John Coates, EMS Application Engineer
ElectriCities services 90 member municipalities and 1.2 million customers throughout North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia.

ElectriCities of NC is a not-for-profit organization that provides a range of technical services to support power services throughout North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia, including emergency assistance, training, safety and communications for 90 member municipalities and 1.2 million customers.

The company maintains a complex network covering thousands of square miles, and collecting data from an array of meters, generators and telemetry equipment to offer comprehensive communications and management services to its member utilities.

ElectriCities also supplies management services to both North Carolina Municipal Power Agency Number 1 (NCMPA1) and North Carolina Eastern Municipal Power Agency (NCEMPA).

Business Challenge

The primary business challenges facing ElectriCities included the ability to provide the most reliable service to their customers, given the vulnerability of power networks to issues such as weather events, and the ability to scale and grow their coverage area and service offerings.

They were heavily reliant on legacy infrastructure, such as T1 circuits and 56k modems. If a tree fell, pulling down a POTS line, it might be days or weeks before the communication utilities would arrive at the site for a service call. Since the legacy system was unreliable, and there was a high cost involved in traveling to the outage site to troubleshoot the situation and determine a fix, there had to be a better way.

Available technologies for expanding communications networks had pros and cons. To install traditional copper 56k circuits to each site would be cost-prohibitive while increasing the risk of physical damage from trees and lightning strikes. Alternative communications methods, such as fiber optics, might reduce the threat of lightning strikes but were prohibitively expensive and excessive for the relatively limited bandwidth needs of each site.

“Our search for the right technology led us to cellular,” said John Coates, Lead Systems Coordinator for ElectriCities. “Today, the networks are expansive, the costs of deploying cellular are minimal, and the reliability is excellent.” Additionally, with the costs of cellular data decreasing, ElectriCities determined that switching to cellular networks would provide the future proofing they needed to move forward.

Digi International already had a multi-year history successfully providing cellular solutions to power utilities in California, Colorado, Texas, Michigan, Florida, New York, and many other states. Internationally, Digi has also created solutions for numerous LATAM and European countries.

Solution

Generator and control cabinets house the Digi WR31 for generator control and the Digi WR21 for metering communications.

Once the ElectriCities team had selected LTE for their new network infrastructure, the focus turned to hardware optimized for connectivity to cellular networks. “The ability to quickly bring hardware online was key, as was the requirement that the hardware was secure, had the flexibility to run on multiple carriers, and could be managed via a centralized management tool,” Coates said.

With the inevitable mix of meters already deployed in the field, and requirements for secure and reliable meter polling data communication, it was imperative to find a centrally managed cellular solution that is dependable enough to maintain a network connection for frequent meter reading, and flexible enough to support communications with Schneider, Itron, JEMStar and SEL devices.

ElectriCities selected the Digi WR31 and the Digi WR21 LTE routers because they provided the right combination of reliability, security, control and flexibility. Industrial cabinets house the Digi WR31 for generator control and the Digi WR21 for metering communications.

The routers were a desirable choice for ElectriCities because of the Digi SureLink® feature which enables Digi LTE routers to monitor the health of the connection through active techniques (e.g., pings) or passive techniques (via stateful firewall), then initiate corrective action such as a cellular module reset or router reboot to ensure maximum uptime. This allows for a consistent connection during the periods when cellular networks go through maintenance and upgrades and check for inactive devices, either of which can result in a device losing its network connection. The router also includes an IP traffic analyzer to inspect virtually any interface or protocol on the router. This can be an invaluable tool when debugging complex configuration scenarios and verifying secure passage of data from one point to another.

Digi high-performance industrial routers provide multi-carrier support so a single router can switch between primary and backup LTE carriers for reliability. Additionally, they are integrated with Digi Remote Manager®, a hosted security, configuration and management solution that makes it easy for smaller teams to manage and secure a widely deployed solution through a single point of entry. A key feature of the platform is that it monitors the configuration of the deployed devices and can automatically remediate them to return the configuration to its approved settings.

Results

ElectriCities saved over $300,000 on telemetry charges the first year after implementing Digi solutions for real-time data gathering on substation meters and generators installed in the field. Savings have continued to grow annually. Additionally, ElectriCities found that Digi LTE routers maintain a far more reliable VPN connection than the dial-up modems they had used in the past.

The use of Digi technology resulted in savings for key areas across the network: yearly lightning strike costs were decreased by $20,000 per site by using wireless routers. Additionally, spending fewer hours troubleshooting and repairing equipment, coupled with reduced maintenance contracts, resulted in an additional savings of $30,000 per year, per site.

Just as importantly, the solution enabled ElectriCities to scale their business with a compact team to serve a much broader region now encompassing multiple states. The ability to monitor and securely manage large deployments from a single point of entry allows the team to provide coverage and meet far greater demand without adding head count.

ElectriCities is able to more reliably and efficiently supply management and communications services across a vast geographic area improving and enhancing power delivery to member municipalities and customers.


For more information on the ElectriCities project, see John Coates' case study article in Power-Grid.com.

Looking for smart city solutions? Contact us.

 

Learn More About Smart Cities Applications
Get "Smart Cities: Is Your City Keeping Up?"