Class 1 Division 2 Environments and Digi's RF

  • Why purchase a product with the certification?

Having a product with any of the hazardous certifications allows you the ability to offer or place a wide range of products (PLC''''s, Flow meters, monitors, etc.) in locations you may not be able to otherwise.

These applications may include but are not limited to:

- Monitoring gas tank levels at a filling station
- Monitoring fumes such as methane within a holding tank at a manufacturing facility
- Monitoring dust levels within a grain silo or at a coal mine

  • What types of environments are covered with the certification?

To be certified by CSA International or other IEEE/Governmental organization, environments can range from flammable gasses or vapors, to airborne fibers.

The reason for the Certification process is to ensure a product under abnormal circumstances is deemed safe to operate within a specific hazardous environment. This means under a worse-case scenario, a malfunctioning device may not ignite the substance around it causing a fire or other catastrophe.

  • What types of locations does a product need to be tested and certified for before being allowed to operating in it?

As different environments are made up of different physical properties, it becomes necessary to classify each environment into four basic classes. As not all environments are considered Hazardous, we only find it necessary to certify for the three most hazardous environments. These classifications and how they are broken down or determined are as follows:

  • Class 1 - A quantity of flammable gas or vapor exist
  • Class 2 - The presence of combustible or electrically conductive dust exists such as (metal, coal and grain)
  • Class 3 - The presence of easily ignitable fibers air born but not in sufficient quantities to product ignitable mixtures

Since not all circumstances are contained within the classification, it becomes necessary to break them down farther into Divisions. The two basic divisions we are most concerned with are as follows:

  • Division 1 - A location where a classified hazard is likely to exist under normal operation
  • Division 2 - A location where a classified hazard does not exist under normal operation but may exist under abnormal conditions

To find out more about the certification process or CSA International in general, please contact CSA International

  • What products do we offer with this certification?

While all of our RF Modems can be used in Class 1 Division 2 environments when mounted in proper enclosures and using a locking power connector or injecting power through the DB9, Digi is currently offering our award-winning 1 Watt 9XTend packaged RF modem in a Class 1 Division 2 Certified product. This option allows customers to combine Digi's award wining RF technology with the flexibility of placing monitoring equipment in hazardous locations without additional enclosures. To find out more about the XT09-PKD-RD 9XTend RF modem, please go to: XTend Class 1 Division 2

  • Do we offer any OEM products with this certification?

Even though Digi has certified components including some OEM modules and sub assemblies, CSA requires that the end product undergo its own certification. This means even if you were to purchase an OEM module from Digi with the certification attached, you would still need to test your end product before it can be classified as Class 1 Division 2. However, using a C1D2-certified OEM module in your product design makes it much easier to obtain the end product certification.

Last updated: Aug 23, 2017

Filed Under

GatewaysRFRF Dev kits

Recently Viewed

No recently viewed articles

Did you find this article helpful?