利用LoRaWAN将动物健康数字化

总部位于德克萨斯州的FeverTags公司提供了一种解决方案,用于全天候监测牛的健康状况,并远程管理每头动物的健康数据--使用移动应用程序和无线耳标传感器,由Digi LoRaWAN支持。

请花一点时间填写下面的表格,并立即获得这次网络研讨会的录音。
 封面页

录制的网络研讨会

8月23日, 2022 | 长度:01:01:41

总部位于德克萨斯州的FeverTags公司提供了一种解决方案,用于全天候监测牛的健康状况,并远程管理每头动物的健康数据--使用移动应用程序和无线耳标传感器,由Digi LoRaWAN支持。

观看由IoT for All主办的这场内容丰富的网络研讨会,了解FeverTags为何选择LoRaWAN作为解决方案的基础技术,因为它具有出色的射频性能、先进的配置和可扩展的Digi X-ON云功能。

与Digi联系

正在寻求下一代的解决方案和支持?这里有一些下一步措施。

 

后续网络研讨会问答

再次感谢您参加我们的绿色技术会议。以下是演讲后的问题及其答案。如果你有其他问题,请务必联系我们。

主持人。Ryan Chacon,首席营销官,IoT for All
演讲者。FeverTags LLC董事长兼首席执行官John Greer和Digi OEM Solutions业务发展总监Nik Kitson

你能谈谈FeverTags解决方案与市场上其他解决方案的比较,以及为什么与那些解决方案相比,这是一个更好的解决方案?

约翰:绝对的,这是一个非常好的问题。所以,这涉及到很多不同的事情,但让我来定义一下市场,如果你愿意,分为三大类。还有一些辅助性的类别。但你已经有了专注于定位的设备,这意味着它们可能有与之相关的GPS,或一些其他类型的通信设备,但它们专注于,"那个动物在哪里?"你已经有了其他的设备,专注于动物的运动或动物的行为类型特征。意思是说,这和你的iPhone是一样的,你在里面有一个加速计,他们在耳标里放了一个加速计,你可以确定,"那个动物在动吗?它是否昏昏欲睡?它是否停留在一个地方?"

瑞安:所以,一个活动追踪器是为了这个。好的。

约翰:这背后的理论是,一旦一个动物静止了一段时间,这可能是该动物生病的指标。因此,你已经有了这些类型的行为型监测器。然后你有我称之为 "生物统计学 "的东西,这就是我们所做的。我们实际上是在测量动物身上的一些东西,这是一个可立即采取行动的项目。我是在养牛业长大的。我说的是牧场主。我们在FeverTags的合作伙伴每年接触数十万头牛。因此,我们非常了解我们正在谈论的环境。我们不是从研究的角度来看待这个问题,也不是坐在某个办公大楼里。我们是从地面上的靴子来看待这个问题的。

因此,当你看到它的定位方面是,我们知道我们的牛在哪里。你知道,特别是当它们在饲养场的时候。它们在栏里,栏被编号,牛被编号到栏,牛被编号到动物。这不是一个对我们来说真正有意义的指标。当你看动物的运动时,运动和生物计量学之间的区别是,一旦动物昏昏欲睡,或者你注意到该动物有什么视觉上的问题,它已经病了两三天了。因此,问题是,"你如何在足够早的阶段拦截这种情况,以便进行可操作的治疗--无论那是什么--将产生最大的影响,最便宜的影响,并且不影响牛群的其他部分?"这就是生物识别方面。你还有其他的辅助问题,人们用无人机追踪动物,做各种类型的监测。

瑞安:是的,我认为你在追踪时也必须从活动方面推断出很多,对吗?你不知道到底哪里出了问题。这是我与工业公司对话的一种方式。这更像是预测性的维护,而不是等着什么东西坏了才知道它出了什么问题。

约翰:正是如此。我给你举个例子吧。如果你在分析那只动物的运动或环境,如果你怀疑有什么问题,它们做的第一件事是什么?

瑞安:对,他们要去检查他们。

约翰:而且他们是在受干扰的状态下进行的。而我们所提供的是一种不受干扰的监测,在不受干扰的状态下对该动物进行实时监测。

瑞安:是的,当然。

尼:而在技术方面,位置和运动的实现有些昂贵,无论是在资本成本还是在电池寿命方面。而且它们实际上并不直接影响测量和导致结果。你知道,位置对盗窃来说是很好的,但你想用被偷的那只动物来测量你的100%的动物吗?这变得非常困难。而当你直接发现那只动物患有疾病,并且你已经覆盖了100%的动物,你正在防止其他100只动物,因为你可以在它发生之前得到它。所以,这都是关于经济上的运作方式。和位置和运动,更昂贵的设备,不持续很长时间,让你只是一种猜测,也许什么是错的,对你的观点。

瑞恩:是的,GPS方面肯定有一些问题,就像你提到的,有时会有基于不同环境的技术挑战,还有成本因素,就像你说的。还有对它的需求,不是每个人都需要它。但是,当你在谈论生物识别技术时,比如,无论他们在什么环境下,都有这样的需求。不是每个人都有被盗的风险,也不是每个人都有离开他们所在的地方并需要找到他们去哪里的牛。因此,我完全理解,并感谢你分享这些解决方案之间的差异。这对我们的听众来说是很有意义的。

你能带我们了解一下这个解决方案的购买过程吗?这是否需要一个初步的对话、范围界定和咨询?

瑞安:我想这的另一面是,就像一个现成的,他们可以直接购买一种东西,然后开始使用,对于那些想要采用的人来说,这个过程是什么样的?

当然,我的意思是,如果你从事养牛业,那么无论养牛业的哪个部门,这都有其适用性。牛的业务实际上分为三个广泛的领域--奶牛-小牛、背景,也就是断奶后,在进入饲养场之前,然后最后阶段,通常是饲养场或草场的动物类型。这在所有这三个领域都有应用,但主要是在背景和饲料场,这确实是你开始得到健康问题的地方,有点爬上你。

因此,对于有牛群的人来说,无论你有5头牛还是50万头牛,是的,我们都能满足,而且真的没有咨询。如果你从事养牛业,你会明白这些问题是什么,而且这很容易安装在动物身上。你有一个网关,基本上被放在20到30英尺的空中,它被插入一个电源装置或太阳能供电,你就可以开始了。

瑞安:完美。

Nik: 补充一下,我认为你正在考虑采取直接......Digi是FeverTags的支持伙伴,FeverTags目前有一个直接从该公司采购的商业模式。我不确定你们是否在寻找其他渠道或经销商类型的全球分销选择,但我相信约翰会欢迎这样的对话。

那么,回到最初的问题,瑞安,是的,我们可以做一个咨询,以了解你有什么类型的操作?我们在电话里做,你可以打电话给FeverTags,我们可以非常容易地进行咨询。如果有任何类型的咨询,我们可以非常容易地做到。

您是否测试公共LoRaWAN网络?

Nik:这是一个很好的问题,我将作为一个技术合作伙伴加入其中。所以,FeverTags的解决方案是完全标准化的,所以,它可以与任何LoRaWAN标准基础设施一起使用,它不是Digi的专有解决方案。LoRaWAN网络和公共空间通常部署在人们所在的地方,而奶牛通常在人们不在的地方。因此,很少有拦截的情况。从约翰的角度来看,非常非常重要的是,FeverTags是可预测的部署和操作。因此,我们希望确保每一个解决方案都能发挥作用。因此,通常情况下,它是通过一个私人网络解决方案完成的。这是有几个原因的。可预测性,你知道,你已经得到了覆盖,所以,你会有一个网关到每个站点。第二个原因是数据主权和数据隐私的问题,这在很多公共基础设施中是没有解决的。你知道,谁拥有数据,谁管理网络的服务质量?这些都是不同的部分。

所以,我认为我们有,比如,公共LoRa网络的基本覆盖挑战,可能第二个更重要的部分是可预测地将你的服务提供给养牛人是第一部分。

约翰:从我们的角度来看,保护这些数据是至关重要的,不仅是我们,还有我们的客户。因此,它不仅是开放的LoRaWAN,而且是拥有我们自己的私有和加密的解决方案。

瑞安:是的。当涉及到LoRaWAN的东西时,总是有关于私人与公共的对话,所以,这提供了一些很好的启示。我想其中一个好处是,正如你之前提到的,在LoRaWAN和这些连接技术的进步出现之前,在更多的农村地区或这些不同的环境中建立IoT 解决方案并不总是一件容易的事情。但是,看起来LoRaWAN已经真正迈出了一步,使像这样的解决方案存在于基础设施并不总是相同的地区,你知道,在人口密集的城市或类似的地方。

尼:是的。还有,补充一点,你知道,整个网络成本的4%到6%,总成本模式,是在网关和连接上。这几乎是一个无关紧要的部分,所以,这一切都归结为适用性,有网关更合适,更可预测。

这个东西是直接从FeverTags购买还是通过经销商购买?公司可以采取什么方式进行购买?

约翰:所以,目前,它只是直接通过FeverTags。我们有专人可以在电话中解决关于它的任何特定问题。如果他们在几个地区之一,我们实际上可以有一些实践......取决于牛群的大小,但它是直接通过FeverTags购买。我们已经有一些转售商与我们联系,在接下来的几个月里,我们也会进行这些讨论,不过,零售商不仅在国内,而且在欧洲、墨西哥和南美也有。

你能分享任何关于定价的细节吗?

约翰:是的,一般来说,我们正在做的是,每个人现在都得到了这个热销的产品,但是标签本身会有一个初始成本,然后是订阅模式。我们正在完善最后一部分的定价模式,但我要告诉你,这将是非常实惠的,在投资回报率方面非常有效,回到我们所处的这种商品环境中的投资回报率。但是会有一个初始的预付价格标签,然后是持续的订阅模式。

我认为值得注意的一件事是,鉴于你在牧场和养牛领域的经验和背景,你了解所有这些行业的商业方面,当涉及到定价时,我觉得在制作这个和知道那些个人和牧场主能负担得起的方面可能会有更多的信任。这可能在你的定价对话中发挥了很大的作用,因为,如果有人来自一个非常不相关的行业,试图在没有这些知识的情况下建立这个解决方案,他们可能没有真正的领域经验来了解什么是该行业真正可以负担得起的,什么是一个好的价格,使这个解决方案实际上可以被采用,并在整个行业内扩展。

约翰:这是个很好的观点,瑞安。这也是,当我们最初与Digi坐下来时,我的意思是,你一开始就列出了你的圣诞早晨的所有愿望。"我不能有一个沉重的标签,我不能...""它必须能够通信,必须有很多设备连接,它必须能够在云中改变。"很多这样的事情。但是,在一天结束时,如果你不能出售你所建立的东西,那么你真的没有建立任何东西。

我们从历史经验出发,我们有,再次,在商品环境中的理解是,你知道,你正在处理镍币和一角钱之类的东西。因此,除了标签的初始成本外,如果它只是一个一劳永逸的标签,它是一个非常实惠的标签,但我们建立它的方式是,你可以把这个标签过渡到另一个动物和另一个动物。因此,它们可以在环境中生存,如果你选择的话,它们可以被放在多只动物身上,或者它们可以在一只动物身上停留10年,如果这是你想要的。因此,你可以在多个动物身上摊销任何成本。

你们是如何具体开发这个设备的,在这个解决方案中使用了哪些Digi产品?

瑞安:你刚才强调了这一点,但只是,一般来说,我很想了解更多关于设备开发过程的情况。因为看起来这里有很多变数,有很多事情,显然,约翰你来到桌子上要求的。我很好奇,这些事情是否很容易得到满足,是否有你必须克服的挑战,以及这个过程看起来是什么样的。

尼:好的。好吧,我会抓住这个,约翰,也许你可以在后面补充,但我认为,当约翰来到我们这里时,他有一个成熟的算法和成熟的技术。它被广泛部署,受到养牛人的欢迎,并用于早期检测。但它是相当手动的。因为它不是一个连接的解决方案,你必须在田间巡视,留意这个设备上的视觉指标。因此,我们对这是一个有效的解决方案有很好的理解,所以,没有从根本上研发出需要哪些传感器。

约翰带来的另一块,它有一个非常明确的投资回报率。所以,我们知道我们有一个经济的信封,我们知道我们有成熟的技术,现在我们只需要找到方法将其扩展到不同的市场。所以,你知道,Digi带来的东西,我们带来了设备、整体技术、电子、数字和无线技术。我们带来了能够重新配置这些设备的选择......所以,回到单一的SKU,用我们的空中云配置技术为多个市场制造一种产品。

因此,当约翰找到我们说,"我想把这个卖给兽医,我想把这个卖给养牛人,我想把这个卖给药品测试,甚至有可能卖给生育监测解决方案。能否用一种方式,让我们用一种产品来做这一切?"我们的答案是:"嗯,是的,如果你重新配置它。"现在,如果你只是考虑传统上建造的单一用途的产品,当它离开工厂时就已经固定了。因此,能够带来这种高度可配置的系统,这几乎是与Digi解决方案的完美匹配。

最终,我们将XBee LR技术用于我们的客户端设备,将其放在一个外形尺寸中是一个非常小的步骤,完全可以实现约翰以前的那种非连接标签。

约翰:是的,只是补充一下,在所有这些东西中,如果你要在动物的脖子上挂东西,有很多东西你可以堆在上面。我们没有这种奢侈。我必须处理重量问题,所以,无论解决方案是什么,它都必须在一定的重量之下,因为,在动物身上,你不会在它的耳朵上挂很多重量。所以,你有这个问题。然后你有它的功能,这就是Digi真正带来的整体解决方案。因此,他们几乎检查了那里的所有箱子。

瑞安:太棒了。是的,不,这当然是挑战,要满足那些不同解决方案的需求。所以,那真是太棒了。我想我们将在这里总结一下,因为我们的时间已经不多了。

如果与会者想了解更多,学习更多,跟进任何问题,诸如此类的事情,他们有什么最好的方式可以做到这一点?

Nik:在最后一张幻灯片上,该链接允许你详细了解Digi提供的LoRaWAN解决方案的情况。在那个页面上,有一个联系表格,所以,欢迎你在那里联系。只要在信息中写上 "LoRaWAN",就能确保信息能传给我们的团队。此外,我相信,可能会有一个后续的电子邮件,所有这些都会直接重复给你。所以,如果你没有直接收到屏幕上的截图,我想Ryan会帮我们处理这个问题。我只想感谢大家的时间和关注,我期待着与你们中任何有兴趣进一步跟进的人交谈。

约翰:关于FeverTags,你可以去fevertags.com。你可以在网站上联系我们,网站上有电话号码。如果你有任何问题,我很乐意与任何人交谈。

 

考虑LoRaWAN的5个理由
除了其长距离和低功耗的能力外,还有(至少)五个很好的理由来考虑LoRaWAN满足您的无线连接需求。

Digitizing Animal Health Using LoRaWAN

Texas-based FeverTags offers a solution for monitoring the health of cattle 24/7 and managing health data for each animal remotely — using a mobile app and wireless ear tag sensor, backed by Digi LoRaWAN.

Please take a moment to complete the form below and gain instant access to this recorded webinar.
 cover page

Recorded Webinar

Aug 23, 2022 | Length: 01:01:41

Texas-based FeverTags offers a solution for monitoring the health of cattle 24/7 and managing health data for each animal remotely — using a mobile app and wireless ear tag sensor, backed by Digi LoRaWAN.

Watch this informative webinar, hosted by IoT for All, to learn why FeverTags chose LoRaWAN, with its excellent RF performance, advanced provisioning, and scalable Digi X-ON cloud capabilities, as the underlying technology for the solution.

Connect with Digi

Seeking next-generation solutions and support? Here are some next steps:

 

Follow-up Webinar Q&A

Thank you again for attending our session on Green Technology. Here are the questions that followed the presentation and their answers. If you have additional questions, be sure to reach out.

Moderator: Ryan Chacon, Chief Marketing Officer, IoT for All
Presenters: John Greer, Chairman and CEO of FeverTags LLC and Nik Kitson, Director of Business Development, Digi OEM Solutions

Can you talk about the comparison of the FeverTags solution to other solutions on the market and why this is a better solution compared to those?

John: Absolutely, that's a really good question. So, that goes to a lot of different things but let me kind of define the market, if you will, in three broad categories. And there's some ancillary categories as well. But you've got devices out there that are focused on location, meaning that they might have GPS associated with it, or some other type of communication device, but they're focused on, "Where is that animal?" You've got other ones that are focused on movement of the animal or behavioral-type features of that animal. Meaning that it's the same thing as your iPhone, you've got an accelerometer in there, they put an accelerometer in an ear tag, you can determine, "Is that animal moving? Is it lethargic? Is it staying in one place?"

Ryan: So, an activity tracker for that. Okay.

John: And the theory behind that is, once an animal is stationary for a certain period of time, it might be an indicator that animal is getting sick. So, you've got those type of behavioral-type of monitors that are out there. And then you have what I would term as “biometrics,” which is what we are. We're actually measuring something on that animal that's an actionable item immediately. I grew up in the cattle industry. I'm talking about ranchers. The partners that we have in FeverTags touch hundreds of thousands of cattle per year. So, we know the environment that we're talking about very well. We're not coming at this from a research standpoint or sitting in an office building somewhere. We're looking at it from where boots are on the ground.

And so, when you look at the locational aspect to it is that we know where our cattle are. You know, especially when they're in a feed yard. They're in pens, the pens are numbered, the cattle are numbered to the pen, the cattle are numbered to the animals. That's not a metric that really moves the needle for us. When you look at the movement of the animal, the difference between movement and biometrics is that once an animal is lethargic or you're noticing something visual with that animal going on, it's been sick for two or three days. So, the question is, "How do you intercept that at an early enough stage to have an actionable treatment – whatever that might be – that's going to have the most impact, the cheapest impact, and not affect the rest of the herd?" And that's the biometric side. You've got other ancillary issues in there, people that track animals with drones and do all types of monitoring.

Ryan: Yeah, I think you also have to infer a lot from the activity side when you track that, right? You don't know exactly what's wrong. This is kind of more of the way I relate this to conversations I've had with industrial companies. This is more of the predictive maintenance side of it and not waiting for something to break to figure out what's wrong with it.

John: Exactly. I’ll give you an example of that. If you're analyzing the movement or the environment of that animal and if you suspect something is wrong, what is the first thing that they do?

Ryan: Right, they're going to go check on them.

John: And they do it in a disturbed state. And what we're providing is an undisturbed monitoring, real-time monitoring of that animal in an undisturbed state.

Ryan: Yeah, absolutely.

Nik: And on the technology side, location and movement are somewhat expensive to achieve, either in capital cost or in battery life. And they're not actually directly impacting the measurement and leading to an outcome. You know, location is great for theft but do you want to instrument 100% of your animals with the one that gets stolen? That becomes really tough. Whereas when you directly find that that has a disease and you've got 100% of your animals covered, you're preventing those other 100 animals because you can get it before it happens. So, it's all about kind of how economics works. And location and movement, more expensive devices that don't last very long that let you just kind of guess that maybe something's wrong, to your point.

Ryan: Yeah, and there's definitely pieces to the GPS side, like you mentioned, the technological challenges at times based on different environments, the cost element, like you said. And also the need for it, not everybody needs that. But when you're talking about biometrics, like, regardless of the environment they're in, there's a need there. Not everybody has a risk of theft or cattle kind of leaving where they are and needing to find out where they went. So, I totally get it, and thank you for sharing the differences there between the solutions. It makes a lot of sense for our audience.

Can you take us through the buying process for this solution? Is this something that requires an initial conversation and scoping and consultation?

Ryan: And I guess the other side of that would be just kind of, like, an off-the-shelf, they can just buy a direct kind of thing and get it going, what does that process look like for somebody looking to adopt?

John: Sure. I mean, if you're in the cattle business, then whatever sector of the cattle business, this has an application for it. The cattle business is really divided into three broad areas – cow-calf, backgrounding, which is, after weaning, prior to going to a feed yard, and then the final stage is, typically, a feed yard or a grass finished type of an animal. This has application in all three of those but predominantly in the backgrounding and the feed yard, which is really where you start getting health issues kind of creeping up on you.

So, in terms of somebody that has a herd, whether you've got 5 animals or 500,000, yes, we accommodate that, and there's really no consultation. If you're in the cattle industry, you understand what those issues are, and this is very easy to install on the animal. You have a gateway that's basically put up 20 to 30 feet in the air and it's plugged into a power unit or solar-powered and you're ready to go.

Ryan: Perfect.

Nik: Just to add to that, I think you're looking at taking that direct...Digi is the support partner for FeverTags, and FeverTags currently has a direct business model for purchasing straight off that company. And I'm not sure if you're looking at other sort of channel or reseller-type options for global distribution but that's kind of a conversation I'm sure that John would welcome.

John: Sure. So, back on the original question, Ryan, yes, can we do a consultation to understand what type of operation you've got? We do that on the phone, you can call the FeverTags and we can go through that very easily. And if there's any type of consult on that, we can do that very easily.

Do you test public LoRaWAN networks?

Nik: It's a great question, I'll sort of jump in there as a technology partner. So, the solution for FeverTags is fully standardized, so, it does work with any LoRaWAN standard infrastructure, it's not a proprietary Digi solution. The LoRaWAN networks and the public space are typically deployed where people are, and cows are typically where people aren't. So, there is very rarely an intercept for that. And it's very very important, from John's perspective, that FeverTags is predictably deployed and operated. And so, we want to make sure that every solution works. So, normally, it's done with a private-network solution. And that's for a couple of reasons. Predictability, you know, you've got coverage, so, you're gonna have a gateway to every site. And the second reason is just kind of data-sovereignty and data-privacy issues, that's somewhat unresolved with a lot of public infrastructure. You know, who owns the data, who manages the network quality of service? These are all different pieces.

So, I think we've got, like, a fundamental coverage challenge with public LoRa networks, and probably the second more important piece is predictably delivering your service to cattlemen is the number one piece.

John: And from our perspective, protection of that data was critical, not only us but our customers as well. So, it's not only the open LoRaWAN but it was to have our own private and encrypted solution here.

Ryan: Yeah. There's always that conversation about private versus public when it comes to the LoRaWAN stuff, so, that sheds some good light on it. And I guess one of the benefits, as you kind of mentioned earlier, is that, until LoRaWAN and the advancements of these connectivity technologies have come out, building IoT solutions in more rural areas or in kind of these different environments wasn't always an easy thing to do. But it seems like LoRaWAN has really kind of taken a step up to enable, like, a solution like this to exist in an area where infrastructure isn't always the same as it is in, you know, a densely-populated city or something along those lines.

Nik: Yeah. And also, to add to that, you know, 4% to 6% of the entire network cost, the total cost model, is on gateways and connectivity. It's almost an irrelevant piece, so, it all comes down to suitability and it's just more suitable and predictable to have gateways.

Is this something to purchase directly from FeverTags or through a reseller? What is the approach companies can take to make a purchase?

John: So, currently, it's just directly through FeverTags. We've got people that can address any particular questions about it on the phone. If they're in one of several areas, we can actually have some hands-on...depending on the size of the herd with it, but it's purchased directly through FeverTags. We've had some resellers contact us, and we'll be entertaining those discussions as we roll on the next few months as well, though, and the retailers are not only here domestically but in Europe, Mexico, and South America as well.

Can you share any details on pricing?

John: Yeah, generally, what we're doing is, everybody's getting this hot off the press right now, but there will be an initial cost of the tag itself, then a subscription model after that. We're refining the last part of kind of the pricing model on this but, I will tell you, it will be very affordable, very effective in terms of ROI, going back to the ROI being in this commodity environment that we're in. But there will be an initial upfront price tag itself and then the ongoing subscription model after that.

Ryan: Yeah. I think one of the interesting things to note is, given your experience and background in ranching and the cattle space, you understand the business side of all of that, of that industry, to where, when it comes to pricing, I feel like there is probably more trust in making this and knowing what those individuals and ranchers can afford. It probably plays a big role in the pricing conversation that you're having because, if there's somebody coming from a very disconnected industry trying to build this solution without that knowledge, they may not really have the domain experience to understand what really is affordable to that industry, what's a good price to make this a solution that actually can be adopted and scaled across the board.

John: That's a good point, Ryan. And that's also, when we sat down with Digi initially, I mean, you start off with your Christmas-morning wish list of everything. "I can't have a heavy tag, I can't..." "it's got to be able to communicate, got to have a lot of devices connected, it's got to be able to be changed in the cloud." A lot of these things. But coming into it, at the end of the day, if you can't sell what you've built, then you really haven't built anything.

And we started from the historical experience, we have, again, understanding in the commodity environments is that, you know, you're dealing with nickels and dimes and stuff. So, along with that, aside from the initial cost of the tag, if it was just a one-and-done tag, it is a very affordable tag, but we built it in such a way that you can transition that tag to another animal and another animal after that. So, they're built to survive the environment, they're built to be placed on multiple animals, if you choose, or they're built to stay on one animal for 10 years, if that's what's you want. So, you can amortize whatever that cost is over multiple animals.

How did you all go about developing the device specifically and what Digi products were used in that solution?

Ryan: You kind of highlighted that earlier, but just, generally speaking, I'm curious to learn a little bit more about kind of that development of the device process. Because it seems like there's a lot of variables here and a lot of things that, obviously, John you came to the table asking for. I'd be curious if a lot of those things were easily met, if there were challenges you had to overcome, and just kind of what that process looked like.

Nik: Okay. Well, I'll grab this one, and, John, maybe you can add on the back of it, but I think, when John came to us, he had a proven algorithm and a proven technology. It was widely deployed, well received by cattlemen, and for early detection. But it was quite manual. Because it wasn't a connected solution, you had to rove the fields and keep your eye out for the visual indicators on this device. So, we had a good understanding of this is an effective solution, so, there was no fundamental R&D into kind of figuring out what sensors were needed.

The other piece that John brought to the table, it had a very clear ROI. So, we knew we had an economic envelope to work with it and we knew we had proven technology and now we just have to find ways to expand that to different markets. So, you know, the things that Digi brought to the table, we brought the device, overall technology, the electronic, and digital, and wireless technology. We brought options to be able to reconfigure those devices...so, back to that single SKU, making one product for multiple markets with our over-the-air cloud configuration technology.

So, when John came to us and said, "I want to sell this to vets, I want to sell this to cattlemen, I want to sell this to pharmaceutical testing, and even, potentially, into the fertility-monitoring solutions. Could this be done in a way that we could just have one product to do it all?" And our answer was, "Well, yes, if you reconfigure it." Now, if you just think single-purpose product that you would traditionally build, that was fixed when it left the factory. And so, it was almost a perfect match with Digi solutions to be able to bring that highly-configurable system.

And ultimately, we took the XBee LR technology that we have for our client device, and it was a very small step to put that in a form factor that exactly delivered what John previously had with a sort of non-connected tag.

John: Yeah, just adding on to that is that, out of all this stuff, if you're going to hang something around an animal's neck, there's a lot of stuff you can stack on. We didn't have that luxury. I had weight that I had to deal with, so, whatever the solution was, it had to be under a certain weight in grams because, on an animal, you're not going to hang a lot of weight on its ear. And so, you have that. Then you had the functionality of it, and that's kind of the total solution that Digi really brought to the table. So, they checked pretty much all the boxes in there.

Ryan: Fantastic. Yeah, no, it's certainly the challenge to meet those demands of different solutions out there. So, that's fantastic. I guess we'll wrap up here, since we're kind of out of time.

If attendees would like to find out more, learn more, follow up any questions, that kind of thing, what's the best way they can do that?

Nik: On the closing slide, that link allows you to take a detailed look at the LoRaWAN solutions offerings that Digi has. On that page, there is a contact form, so, you're welcome to reach out there. And just put "LoRaWAN" in the message and that will make sure it gets through to our team. In addition, I believe, there may be a follow-up email where all of this will be repeated directly to you. So, if you don't receive this straight off the screen with your screenshot, I think Ryan's going to take care of that for us. I'd just like to thank everyone for their time and attention, and I look forward to talking with any of you that are interested in following up further.

John: For FeverTags, you can go to fevertags.com. You can contact us on the website, there are numbers on the website. I'll be happy to talk to anyone, if you've got any questions.

 

5 Reasons to Consider LoRaWAN
In addition to its long-range and low-power capabilities, there are (at least) five more good reasons to consider LoRaWAN for your wireless connectivity needs.